You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cleaning up the compost heap, starring Cormocephalus nitidus and a stinkbug

in #butterflyday4 years ago

Cool photos, first off. Seriously.

Here centipedes are treated the same it seems. Killed usually. I'm not sure if our species are more or less venomous but they generally don't last long if they are found. The same with snakes and spiders although we have some incredibly deadly varieties so it's not surprising.

Anyway, I don't know much about compost heaps so I'll leave it right here.

Have a good Friday, and weekend ahead.

Sort:  

Thanks! Good weekend to you too

Aus does have some highly venomous creatures, for sure. No big predators but plenty of deadly small things. I try and learn to differentiate. Luckily, no hugely harmful creatures at my place although I am highly allergic to wasps so that is scary for me. I see no reason to kill them, though

All comes down to education I think, what a person was brought up to think. I understand things getting killed here, for being deadly. Yes, no big fellas here, plenty your way though yes?

Have a great weekend.

One the one hand, it's education but on the other, most people have a primal fear of these creatures. We have large predators but they are all sadly confined to game parks and similar

We have some serious ones roaming free...Crocs, bull and great white sharks...People get taken a bit. You're right though, primal fear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68586.22
ETH 3911.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63