Butterfly Day in the BackyardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #butterflyday5 years ago

monarch.JPG

She has been visiting my backyard regularly. I know she's a she - the males have a spot on each of their lower wings. I planted milkweed several years ago and I hoped between those and other flowers to lure some Monarch butterflies here. So far, the plan is working...

IMG_9516.JPG

She's paying attention to the underside of the leaves. Is she laying eggs? Some of the milkweed leaves have been eaten but I haven't seen caterpillars.

small milkweed.JPG

The milkweed plants are covered with flowers this year. The whole patch looks great and there are other flowers around for the adult butterflies.

IMG_9520.JPG

I don't know what she sees in this little plant but she always lands there. I couldn't convince her to open her wings for photos.

IMG_9521.JPG

She found the flowers.

Images

Photos from my Canon SX620 HS.

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

I bet you will see caterpillars soon!

When I was a kid, I could find some every year.

Good for you planting milkweed for the monarchs! Don't they smell wonderful? I love the 4th photo. Hopefully you will see some caterpillars. Please put the link to this post here if you would like to be entered in the giveaway. Thanks for using #butterflyday tag @kansuze! : )

Nice food patch have you seen any larvae. I just found some monarch larvae in the planters here in downtown chicago.

Posted using Partiko Android

Something is eating the leaves but I haven't seen larvae. I think I found an egg. This year has been humid enough that the mosquitos attack when I go out there.

Lots of critters love milkweed. I have yet to find a monarch crysalis, they have a gold trim on them. Darn mosquitos are brutal even with spray.

Posted using Partiko Android

The chrysalis is beautiful. I haven't seen one in the wild for some time but I saw some at the butterfly exhibit at our Museum of Nature and I posted them.

They will be around for sure

I hope so. I went several years without seeing a Monarch before I planted the milkweed patch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47