These Female Dragonflies Literally Fake Their Own Deaths To Avoid Males!

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

lol...it's true! The University of Zurich found that the Moorland Hawker dragonfly will drop like a rock and fall to the ground and play dead if approached by a male she doesn't like.

Howdy folks! This post is for the wonderful @whatisnew's Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway.

Yes, they've studied this intensely and found that this trick is used by the female when she's been impregnated by a male of her choosing.

download (2).jpg
source

After they've mated she flies off to lay the eggs and that's when she will play dead if approached by other sleezy males that she hasn't chosen.

Those males will usually hang around her "lifeless" body for a few moments and then take off and look for other females. Once he is gone she will get up and fly away. lol.

Rest in peace girl. Wait, she's just faking it! Who knew they were so smart?

image.png
source

Unexpected results

What's shocking is that someone posted the findings on Twitter and got THOUSANDS of responses from women all over the world saying they totally relate to this dragonfly because of the constant or unwanted advances from men.

So this entertaining story hit a real cord with women everywhere. Many women sounded like they would gladly fake their own death to avoid unwanted males, that's pretty serious!

9ir66o.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

PS- I'm sure everyone has been watching the huge wildfires in Eastern Australia with sadness.

The Koala is one of the animals most at risk because they instinctively escape danger by climbing to the top of trees but that's the most dangerous place to be in a wildfire.

One lady saw a Koala trying to escape the flames but he was scorched so she jumped out of her car and used the shirt off her back to rescue him:

97ek6j.jpg
source

8lincp.png
source

e0pg68.png
source

s1ji8i.png
source

She took him to a Koala hospital. He was quite injured:

3vir7v.png
source

Here's a video of her rescuing him but it will get to your heart because the poor guy is crying:

Now here is a video of her being reunited with him after he's been patched up at the hospital:

Kudos to Australians. This lady ran right into the burning forest with no hesitation.

mv4t7d.png

d25fwk.png

xsfpf7.png

Don't shrink your dreams, enlarge your faith!

Sort:  

I laughed just as soon as I read your title. I had to come see !

I'm not sure dropping dead would stop some men....LOL... Yes ! I'm just kidding !

That is really something about the rescue. Really !

Howdy jacey.boldart! I'm so glad that I gave you a chuckle, I thought it was hilarious. I feel bad for women who are forced to go to that extreme..or feel like they need to but I realize that many men are just clueless pigs! lol.

Yes that lady rescuer was awesome! I say 99% of steemians would do the same don't you think? I think most people here have really big hearts.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Howdy esteemapp and thanks so much for the upvote!

Damselflies be all crazy lol, bu that Koala lady, admire her.

@alliedforces curate

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 82.41%

God bless you alliedforces!

I agree sir enginewitty, the Koala lady was totally brave and selfless. Not unlike the great sir enginewitty!

You honor me Janton. Thank you. Dropped this on PYPT for ya get some more eyes. Think maybe some of the ladies got a lil chuckle bout the dragonflies😋

lol..I hope the ladies can't relate to that butterfly but I'm sure lots of them do! Stupid clueless males. Thanks so much for the share!

That is a funny article, nature sure knows what it does and does not want.

Howdy sunscape! I agree and that is very well put, thank you!

Isn’t nature clever? I know a few girls who have done this at the bar to avoid the blokes.

lol..it's sad that they have to but good for them!

Blokes can be trouble to a girl...Still, these days it's the other way around too!

Howdy today sir galenkp! Very true. Is the term "blokes" for just any male or does it have a more specific connotation?

Blokes mean men. That's about it. Not used for women.

Thanks sir galenkp! Ya big ornery bloke!

Great shot of the dragonfly! That koala story is heart warming. What a hero.

Howdy sir nutman! I totally agree. Where is Huddersfield? I mean what country is it in?

Oh it's in England. The land of wet weather and rolling green fields :) Where are you from?

Howdy today sir nutman! Is it winter over there? I'm from Kansas originally but now live in Texas.

Howdy! I see Texas and Kansas are not too far from each other. What made you move? I grew up in the south of England and moved up north to study and have since stayed here because the scenery is just so much nicer; there's actually some hills! I've never been to the USA but sure would like to some day. Technically it's not winter here until 21st Dec but its already close to freezing, dark and wet, so it certainly feels like it's here already. Is it not in Kansas? I thought everywhere in the northern hemisphere shared the same seasons?

Howdy today sir nutman! I have never been to England but would certainly love to as well. Yes, I guess we share the same seasons, I just never knew that. lol. I left Kansas to find work and I worked in many different states but lived in Northern Ohio the longest but Mrs. J. wanted to move where it was warm so we chose Texas.

What do you do for a living? And where did the username "Nutman" come from? do people think you're nuts?

Oh I would love to live somewhere warm too. It's been wet, dark, damp and muddy all autumn here. Starting to feel dreary and winter is only just beginning! Alas all the water makes for lovely green colours throughout the countryside so it's a trade off! Which State did/do you like the most?

My surname begins with 'nut' and nutman became a nickname at some point! I work in e-learning doing mostly system testing tasks. It's ok. What do you do?

Howdy again sir nutman! I hope the winter will be mild and short with some sunny days thrown in. That's a tough question about my favorite state, I've lived in Missouri, Kansas, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and now in Texas.

I really loved them all for their own unique qualities but if I was forced to choose I reckon I'd say Kentucky and Texas. The Northern states are great but man, the winters are long and bitter.

So you work online all day? Do you have to go into an office?

So glad that this little koala was rescued! So many have died.

That is one clever lady dragonfly!

Howdy Melinda! Yes the lady dragonfly is one clever gal! lol. I've read that the Koala were already endangered and now all those fires are killing many of them so it's very sad. That one in the video might not have survived, probably wouldn't have if it wasn't for that brave lady. I bet most steemians would do the same thing.

I was talking with someone a few weeks back about the fires and the koalas. Pretty sure it was Trudee. That is really a horrible thing.

It's a shame. That whole situation with so much of the country on fire is just alarming!

Hahaha, you made me laugh out loud with this one @janton! Love it, dragonfly faking its dead, nature is just too smart! Can't believe twitter was all a twitter, lol

So horrible these wildfires, such a tragedy...

Howdy birdsinparadise! I'm so happy to make you laugh, I thought it was hilarious too. lol. They really need some serious rain storms in Australia!

It is so good janton to see fellow Australians saving the koalas in the fires, they really need water to drink as well. It happens quite a lot. I know that I would not hesitate to save the animals.

I know you wouldn't hesitate angiemitchell, I thought of you while putting this together in fact, I know you'd give the shirt off your back and maybe your pants too if need be! lol.

Hahah yes I would janton. I'll makes sure I wear bike pants underneath a pair of loose cotton pants so I can use them if I need to, lol. Always be prepared is the 'Scout motto'

Howdy Janton! I always loved dragonflies and love them even more! Amazing female intelligence and funny too. By the way, I am just about top post some dragonflies too. But you already seen them in August. Well you probably forgot anyway, lol.

And since I am not watching TV and news in general, I didn't know about the wildfires in Eastern Australia. Honestly I rather not know, but this story is truly heart touching. This is what a true humanity is all about. God bless this lady 💔

Howdy Miss Lena! Yes that dragonfly post will be new to me. lol. The wildfires in Australia are really depressing and putting the Koala at risk, it is already endangered. That's probably wise not to watch the news, it's mostly too depressing for most people anyway. Not me though, mr. perfect don't get depressed. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65738.35
ETH 2677.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91