A Red-Spotted Purple Butterfly

in #butterflyday4 years ago (edited)

Lol...my title isn't the description of my butterfly but it's the, actual, name of my butterfly. It is the Red-spotted Purple butterfly (aka Limenitis arthemis). I photographed the butterfly while I was on the Pot Rocks trail at the Gunpowder Falls State Park in Baltimore County, Maryland. The name of the butterfly is interesting (to me) as the butterfly appears to be more blue than purple and the spots are more orange than red. Still a beautiful butterfly and I love the iridescence on the wings.

r514rq.jpg

I came across the butterfly as it was sipping from a puddle of muddy water in one of the pot marks in a huge rock. They also prefer tree sap over flower nectar.

8ptgon.jpg

jiadgh.jpg

The wing span of an adult Red-spotted Purple can be up to four inches. I would say that this one was about two and a half inches. Size is, usually, an indication of the sex of a Red-spotted Purple as a female is larger than a male so I think this could be a male Red-spotted Purple butterfly.

dk3wck.jpg

Certainly, a pretty little butterfly even if it isn't really red-spotted or purple! 😉

This is my entry for #butterflyday which you can read about here and is hosted by @whatisnew!! Thank you @whatisnew!!

Saturday is for indigo! Thank you @kalemandra for #colorchallenge!!

flby8g.png

63ruk1.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

a9085d.png

Sort:  

Amazing what beautiful butterflies there exists!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 11 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
$trdo
1

Thank you so much @pixresteemer and thank you for the token also!! 💖

Congratulations @pixresteemer, you successfuly trended the post shared by @deerjay!
@deerjay will receive 0.46938488 TRDO & @pixresteemer will get 0.31292325 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

It is quite pretty and shimmery.

Thank you very much @sunscape!! 🙂

A truly beautiful specimen and I always wonder how they get their names! You captured many good shots of him and you certainly have a great place in Baltimore County to draw your beauty from.

When I think of this butterfly and how he is so misnamed in some ways, I think of the redbud tree which isn't red at all, and I used to be confused with its name. LOL

I hope all is well with you and I must say that you run through my mind on occasion and it is at that time that I say a little prayer for you and your family. Many blessings and I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

!tip .20

Thanks so much Denise!! Yes, the redbud is very pretty but not so much red. I guess Red-spotted Purple does sound a little better than Orange-spotted Blue..lol. 😉
Thank you for the thoughts and prayers. I think the Holidays this year will be difficult but it will be what it will be. Wishing you a beautiful and Blessed Thanksgiving as well! 💞

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you very much @tipu and @dswigle!! 🙂

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much @esteemapp!! 😊

I agree with you about their colors and they are such beautiful butterflies. Wonderful photos @deerjay. Thanks for using @butterflyday tag! : )

Thank you so much @whatisnew!! Yw, I'm happy to be able to participate in #butterflyday! 🙂

I love iridescence on butterflies (and beetles and birds...). Your photos capture the colors so well!

Thank you so much @passerine!! I love it on the beetles and birds also! 😊

Beautiful butterflies Dee. Love the colors. Hope you are well.

Thank you so much Trudee!! I'm doing okay. I just saw your beautiful photo boards! That is some amazing artwork!! 💖

Congratulations and success mom ... please take direction and guidance about success in steemit thank you

Howdy again deerjay! That one is gorgeous, I agree with you, the iridescence on the wings is stunning! How close did you get to it for these photos?

Hi @janton and thanks so much again!! I was probably 8 to 12 feet away. The photos on my phone camera did not come out so well but I had one of my other camera's with me. I took this one with my Sony still camera. The butterfly kept opening and closing its wings and I took way too many shots trying to capture him with his wings open. Course, I also take a lot since half come out blurry from operator malfunctions..lol. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83