You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Butterfly Colouring Contest #10 for deemarshall with tutorial

You have created some beautiful textures in this one!

I love that you made it into a tutorial for GIMP too. I also duplicate and hide layers in Krita, the illustration app that I use, for those 'just in case' moments!

Fantastic art and post!

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm glad you like it. This year, I've really become "friends" with GIMP.

Although you left it to me to choose a post for you to upvote/resteem - and maybe this is the one that you most like for that...

I also point out that for my book work, I've done the graphics art for that as well. I'm particularly proud of how the artwork for my current book turned out. Especially that I did it "right there and then" showing my daughter how to use GIMP. That one took about 45 minutes.

This butterfly picture took a bit longer because of all the brushwork that it needed.

The book artwork is awesome, I like the that the view of the village seems to be from a cliff-side or from just inside the entrance of a cave.

You are incredibly creative to be able to write so many words and come up with a fitting cover too!

I have actually given the upvote and resteem to the 'Book Update' post that you did earlier in the week. It's absolutely astonishing to me that you have written that many words! When I have some free time I will give your book/s a read (I'm quite the slow reader though, I mentioned on that post) :D

Thank you! I have many creative sides. Some are easier to share than others. That image is a composite of four separate images. There's the mountains (my background layer), then the town, then the river/fields layer which needed a tad color change to make it blend with the town better. Then finally, the mouth of a cave - which turns up pretty soon in the book now. I was amazed at how well it turned out. People told me that I needed to hire someone to do my covers for me. Well, I don't have that kind of money, so I had to do it myself. :-)

I am actually planning to redo my main picture - the one that's on the update posts. I'll be using DAZ studio and/or Poser (one of the few paid pieces of software I own) to create the people and the silhouette. I've got a decent sunset picture somewhere that I took, that will make a good background for them. The biggest problem with the free image I found to use was the fact that the man has short hair and most of the men in my books at the moment have long hair (connects them to the leya better - based on real-world truth - just read about what happened when the military required their Native "trackers" to have a standard military haircut!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66