Re-Run: How Would You Introduce "MainStream" people to Crypto?

in #busy5 years ago

I would create a simple platform they would understand.. Maybe a social media platform? Then I would allow them to earn the crypto giving them incentives to save, transfer, trade, spend and cash-out that token.

I would allow people to earn without technical mining.. Maybe through communicating with others, writing about things they are interested in, making friends, sharing photos, stories, life experiences with others.

I would be excited they were using the tokens to improve their life and financial options.

I would be excited they can earn, pay bills, invest, save, trade, and spend that earned resource.

What? This wasn't my idea and someone has built a blockchain that is already doing that? (Steem)

Brilliant...

Next - I would market that sooo hard!
.. But that's just me.

All the alt-coins have a blockchain. We have an economy driven community.
Steem - taking crypto mainstreem.

This post is a rerun from 2 years ago.

https://steemit.com/mainstreemit/@whatsup/how-would-you-introduce-mainstream-people-to-crypto

@whatsup

Sort:  

Add to that an addictive, fun & always challenging game which can make you money. A great entry point for new users.

Posted using Partiko iOS

By letting them know the major importance of cypto currencies and how it will transform the global economy through blockchain technology. i will educate them more through social media marketing and word of mouth sensitization @whatsup

I wouldn't exclude mining though, just don't make it to technical. Something like this:
https://steemit.com/steemsurfer/@steemsurfer.earn/payout-report-2019-02-05

I did not know this.

Don't worry, I've got yer back!

Hi @whatsup!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.357 which ranks you at #199 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Even though they didnt stay i did get 4 people on Steemit for a short period of time. It has been the best way for me to introduce others to crypto.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

While still relevant today I feel thatbit is encouraging that it has also become so much more. Would you have thought Dapps like @actifit or @steemmonsters would have come along!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, that is a good point and back then, I truly did not see that coming.

Out there in the "real" world, I heavily promote steem. But it's so hard to explain. I mean the technical aspect of it and how it all works. Especially older people just don't seem to get it. I really don't know where to start if I mention steem and steemit.

Next - I would market that sooo hard!
.. But that's just me.

Yeah, did they even market steem? If yes, where?

Not officially. Some users did, but never any type of a coordinated effort.

How to introduce people to the Internet?

In most part of the world(the third world esp.), people were introduced to the Internet after they got their first smartphone. They end up using the the apps pre-installed and just use it. I guess cryptocurrency will be widespread when Android comes along with a built-in cryptocurrency wallets.

Posted using Partiko Android

Isnt the next samsung phone coming with some blockchain capabilities?

That will be a catalyst and open the floodgate to more adoption. After Samsung many more will join in for sure.

That is a likely situation. I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43