Re: Crimsonclad - What Is Steem's Brand Story

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

construction-1019810_1920.jpg

The other day @Crimsonclad asked people to consider what our brand should be. This is something I have been thinking about a lot. While I've never been good at taking a branding idea and turning it in to a consumable marketing message, I do have some strong ideas on what I think we are about and trying to do. So, I thought what the heck I'll give you my "not yet presentable thoughts" and see if anyone can turn it into a great marketing message.

My thoughts on Steem's brand are that we should play on the idea of building a future on the blockchain. A future unimpacted by large corporations and governments that want to control what we say and how we say it. A short slogan idea might be... Real People, Real lives, Real News. Or People Building on the Blockchain

We could refine a vision:

On Steem our vision (dream) is to build a place where people from all walks of life can communicate about all elements of life without 3rd party interference. (this has no marketing flair yet, but the baseline idea)

Much like Bitcoin's message is Peer 2 Peer Transactions our story is Peer 2 Peer Communication and Publishing.

(peer to peer sounds cold maybe we could call it People 2 People to warm it up)

Have a story to tell?
Have music to release?
Want to talk about current events without current political messages?
Do you build Web Applications?

Cut out the middleman and get your ideas, songs, news in the hands of real people.

A message (brand) idea I've been playing with in my head is...

Come help us build the future on Steem. It's young it's messy and we need your help.

Instead of appealing to greed (Your voice is worth something) We appeal to motivated people who want a new way to do things and expect to help build it.

Branding Feel:
New
Young
Innovative
Freedom

Advertising Messages:

Under Construction - A work in progress
Real People doing Real People things
We need your help, come and help us build it.

Key Messages:

No middleman direct publishing to your audience. Peer to Peer, Publishing and Communications
We don't steal your personal data
The users of the platform are the stakeholders/owners
Freedom to express any ideas
Community of builders

I've always been a bit too practical to be great at adding the flair to marketing messages, but at the concept level I think this is a very strong message that appeals to both mainstream and crypto people.

We connect people who data, music, stories, applications to people who consume all of those same things.

We are building the future where people connect without third party interference and we do it on Steem.

Now some creative person, should look at this concept an make it fun! Hash out my practical language and add some fun, flair and creative energy to it.

PS. I love the turnkey idea for Dapp builders, but I hate it for end-users. TurnKey implies easy and ready. Steem is neither easy or ready. That's why I like the idea of branding in the concept that it is a work in progress.

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup,
I think it's better combined STEEM - SMT branded ads! So, better focus on future than today!

Cheers~

At this point I am not counting on SMTs I will believe it when I see it.

@whatsup,
Did you see this?
https://www.stateofthedapps.com/rankings
Without SMT we perform that, with SMT, just imagine what we will do!

Cheers~

lol.... oh oh

Great vision of the brand for sure! I like the focus on community rather than rewards... I would add more around relationships and engagement as well to drive those that enjoy the social experience. Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Writing this helped me to shorten it up.

If Bitcoin is Peer to Peer Transactions, Steem is Peer to Peer Publishing and Communication.

Thank you for this article that has making me thinking. I totally agree that Steem has a big potential and to explain this to the people out there, we need a good and easy to understand brand story. Personally I think that Steem may be the way a lot of people can make part of their income out of their own creativity and ideas. The way of the 21st century to monetize your individual skills. But this will take sone time, efforts and good marketing massages. Lets find some together...

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @whatsup!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.317 which ranks you at #202 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32