You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Normalization of downvotes | Read this post, then downvote it

in #busy5 years ago

Think of it like profit sharing.

On other platforms where people share because they want to, the money goes to marketing companies.

The idea here was to return rewards to quality creators, but some how that got twisted to "get paid to post" which is a bad expectation and will only disappoint more and more as time goes on.

Sort:  

Yeah. I get it. I think it’s a pretty cool idea too. When it works.
I guess it’s just that the main motivation for the desired interaction often seems somehow skewed I think.
You kind of said it yourself.
“Platforms where people share because they want to”.
As opposed to what?
A platform where they share because they have to? Because they need money?
I’m not saying that it necessarily spoils it but it certainly changes it.

I have made my living for the last few decades doing something I “initially” loved doing.
Maybe it’s just me but I found that the introduction of the whole business / money part really changed things. I still enjoy the work but I hate trying to put a value on it or haggle about it. But when you are selling your services and products you have to expect every customer to be different and have their own ideas about what you are worth.
In other words, it just takes something away from what used to be purer somehow.
But rigging is just one thing that I love doing. I also have always loved gardening, writing silly poems, taking pictures and sharing experiences that I have had. But the idea that I could make money doing that seems somewhat unrealistic.
If I were a professional writer or photographer I would no doubt feel differently. But I’m not. And I’m still glad that all of you, (actually very few of you), nice people look at my posts.
I understand that there are some wonderfully talented people here on Steemit. I hope that they are supported enough that they will continue to share here. But I would hope that people like me who are perhaps not so gifted would continue to freely share their meager offerings simply because it gives them pleasure to do so.
I’m gonna. Cause it ain’t about the money.

It's about both for me. I don't consider myself a content creator, but I love the idea of social networking where those who add to the community get to earn.

I love voting with my dollars and removing some of my finances from mainstream.

I also love building things that hold value and earn lot's of people money.

So, here we are and there is room for both

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87