If You Guys Change This __________, I'm Going to Power Down!

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

It's the Steem version of "I'm taking my ball and going home".

If that happens I'm going to power down.

I've heard and read this statement many times in the last couple of weeks, from Developers, Bot Owners, Bloggers, and stakeholders in response to the recent flurry of change proposals.

First of all, I don't believe you! If you are still here fighting you still care.

In addition, come on guys, pre-emptive quitting? What if... drum roll, you are wrong and if there is a change, it is good?

Haven't you ever been wrong about what might or might not be a good idea before? I have.

Surrounding the proposed changes, there are a few I like and a few I don't but if any of them happen, I will do my best to give it a try and hope for the best.

My overall feeling is that if those with the most stake are more interested in stacking coins than building the site we have a long hard path in front of us anyway.

The money will flow with the values of the Stakeholders if they want to invest in and build the site and a community they will choose to spend their time and investment doing that. If they consider this a chance to hold millions of mostly valueless tokens, that is what they will continue to do.

It seems highly unlikely that any changes are going to strong arm the stakeholders into investing time and energy into spending stake on rewarding content. If we had a better distribution it wouldn't matter. If the crypto-markets were pumping, I also think it wouldn't matter.

We are in a slump with the rest of the Market and economically and emotionally it is just taking a toll on many of us.

Yes, I'm feeling a little snarky about the conversation, and yes I get the Investors want to earn, but focusing on giving Steem value seems more important to me than who gets to stack the most of them, while they are declining in value.

@whatsup

Sort:  

@whatsup
From my Research and Development; No One Really Cares Here.
As for Selfishness have gone Beyond.
Take Care of Yourself First.
No One will Cares if you Power down and leaving the Platform.
Power Up x XXX , going Stronger - Keep Moving!

I'm not quitting. :) But someone should care that we are now starting to lose mid sized engaged accounts.

I think some of the mid sized accounts have been leaving or at least staying away for a few months. The greedy ones who occasionally pop back to make a few quid and ones with their own multi account circles who did nothing buy take take take anyway. Good riddance, we are now seeing peoples true greedy colours.
Steemit is quite nice at the moment with a lot of nice people so for me, i think its better than its ever been.
I invest time and love the engagement here and its now easier to see the trees in the woods, and easier to see the dross and the selfish grabbers.
Pre emptive quitting is pathetic, as in any team sport, no one person is bigger than the team. Things may change, the emphasis will shift but the blockchain itself is solid and will remain.
Looking forward to more rewards for the rest of us :-)

Part of me does like that we are down to more serious users.

People will always be scared of change. Rightfully so too if you ask me. Change is scary. But of course it's thoughts like this that keeps us going :

pre-emptive quitting? What if... drum roll, you are wrong and if there is a change, it is good?

We've probably all done this before, and if there is something more scary than change anyway, it's the thought of making the same mistake twice.

Laters, whatsup!
(This is the only place that phrase would ever make sense haha. I'm sure you've had it before though.)

Good points.

snarky is good, we like snarky, more snarky please

If people don’t start shaving the Steem logo in their head, I’m powering down...

Posted using Partiko iOS

lol, well.. I'm not going to. ;)

I really appreciate the way you phrase things. I'm really puzzled by the discussions that are going on, but one thing is clear to me:
If you're good at applying the current rules, chances are you'll also be good at applying different rules.

Estimating behavior of people based on certain rules and incentives you set up is hard. That's why Kahneman and Tversky had such a huge success. Plus, we're mixing up the potential behavior of rational people (e.g. vote farmers) and irrational people (pretty much everyone else). It's kinda clear that people like me (and probably everyone making even less) aren't here for the money:
I've been here for a year and made less than 200$ in Steem. The rest I bought.

So, can anyone safely assume that I'm making a good hourly rate by spending my time on Steem? Don't think so.

So why would I spend my time here, if not for the money? This is what what we should be thinking about!

Posted using Partiko Android

haha, if I don't buy a vote, I make around $10 a day... 2.5 years in. I think many of us are wondering why we are putting the time in!

most likely, people are putting the time in because: no matter if you're making 100 dollars a post, or 1 cent a post, your making more than you would literally anywhere else. Instagram doesn't pay you, Twitter doesn't pay you, Facebook fucks you... and doesn't pay you, of course.

Steem will pay you, at the very least, something. Plus, the community. Find the right people and this platform becomes as good if not better than any other.

Exactly, your voice is worth something. Something doesn't mean hundreds.

I agree fully with you, and if everybody would just stop mining and actually start reading before they vote and to start writing comments and and and and....then there would not be so many steemit clones popping up and steemprice will eventually climb....let me know if you ever decide to run because I'll be right behind you...ha ha

Totally agree, investment in the site is more than holding and stacking tokens.

"We are in a slump with the rest of the Market and economically and emotionally it is just taking a toll on many of us."

I think that is at the heart of a lot of this. People are getting frustrated and that is causing them to do wonky things. I think it was you who pointed this out (that I saw anyway) but most of those people who make a big scene about quitting will come back when they see things improving here so we have to take those types of statements with a big grain of salt.

Nods... It is not a good negotiation tactic, but I think they think it is.

The proposed changes I have seen all deal with trying to discourage self-voting, vote selling, bot-use, etc.

This is certainly a problem for the Steem blockchain, so I understand that the community is working to change some of the ways posts are rewarded, curation is rewarded, and even how downvoting works.

I too have seen some ideas I like, and others that I strongly disagree with.

The thing is, the outcome of any proposed change is mostly conjecture. Changing incentives in order to change behavior will always create some unintended consequences. We simply do not know how people will behave when the incentives are changed. People are far too complex to predict, and eventually people will find other ways to game the system. It is the same in every facet of life, and in every economy there are always "cheaters". It may take another two years and another twenty hardforks to get it right, but Steem will continue to evolve and improve.

It is still way too early in Steem's development to jump off now, and especially over changes that could be reversed if they don't work anyway!! Blockchain technology in general is still in its infancy, and to be part of the Steem community now is still very much a ground-floor opportunity.

I am not going anywhere. I believe in the Steem blockchain, and believe it is not yet even close to reaching its full potential.

Yeah, we need a pump or good news or ....

However, overall, I agree. We haven't reached the full potential.

Frankly, very little people here can demand anything as the protocol isn’t made to entitle anyone. Rather it is about community building with a strong social presence as the end game. While it may not seen we are there yet, it is truly something inspiring already for many. We need to learn how to manage expectations as we continue to build the beat alternative for all and not a select fee, whatever that may be.

Also very few people hold enough stake to make any dent at all in the big stakeholders. :)

You're so right, rage quitting is a complete waste of time. Apart from the fact that nobody cares, the rage quitter ends up looking and feeling pretty silly when they skulk back with their tails between their legs. Lolz

Cg

Haha, at least a rage quitter is funny. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46