MY STACH 199 WORD SHORT STORY CONTEST ENTRY : "ALL IS NOT LOST"

in #busy6 years ago

P5110177.JPG
Image source

I trudge along the snowy wilderness....

My snow boots sink deeper and deeper into the snow with every step I take. I do not breathe pure oxygen anymore. It's a solid combination of frost and oxygen.
For miles I don't see anything, just a desolate iceland. I have been trekking for days, days I have lost count of. Traversing this icy hinterlands with nothing save for my compass,hiking gear and ten energy bars I have salvaged from our crashed plane.

Miller_Range,_Antarctica_-_Moraines.jpg
[Author : NASA/Cindy Evans] source : wikicommons

We were headed for the Himalayas. A fierce blizzard had reduced visibility and our pilot had flown blind for half an hour, leaving us to the hands of fate.
Fate didn't keep us airborne for long as our planes wing scraped against the side of a cliff and down we plunged.
Long story cut short, our plane crashed and I was the only surviving crew member.

060530-F-1234S-041.JPG
Image source

So here I am in this icy wilderness blowing with a devilish blizzard.
A sound jolts me back to reality as I plug along.
There's a light in the distance. As I inch closer I recognize the outline of a human form besides a fire.

1737-bonfire-fire-mountain-snow-winter-night.jpg
Image source

ALL IS NOT LOST afterall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90