My Love for the Guitar Died/Throwback Thursday/Funtime with gee1

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

12274311_1196207733741533_2075485212919094772_n.jpg
My sister holding Dexter 2.0, my second guitar

I've have had three guitars in my lifetime. The first one had a name. I called him Dexter butthe other two had no names. For the sake of this blog post, I'm going to call them Dexter 2.0 and Dexter 3.0. I used to be an acoustic guitar junkie. I had so much love for guitars that I would spend hours and hours practicing, just for the fun of it.

992845_650432768319035_385870589_n.jpg
Dexter held by My Little Cousin Anointed

The very first guitar I got was a fender acoustic guitar. It was a real beauty. I called him Dexter because he improved the dexterity of my hands. I remember being hated by my roommate for buying this guitar. The reason was that there was no food in the hotel and it was exam period. Definitely not the best time to spend money and attention on guitar. But I was enchanted, a few weeks back I saw a guy sitting in the common room of our hostel playing the guitar. I feel in love with the guitar and I swore that I would get one no matter the cost. That was my final year in school.
Now that I think of it, I want to get me another guitar

I took my guitar to youth camp(NYSC). I wrote a few songs and even performed on stage to fellow corpers. I wasn't a badass professional but I just had the passion for the strings. My passion inspired some other guitarist in my camp to call home and have someone send their guitars to them. We had many jam sessions. It was a fantastic experience.

I eventually gifted it out to one of my students because he was just too awesome.

942313_660399437322368_1131954409_n.jpg
That's me and Abisola(He is the badass professional guitarist I met in camp)


10372023_870123199683323_5855167547157962433_n.jpg
That's me holding my second guitar(Dexter 2.0)

I bought this one with my NYSC allowance. I was supposed to use the money to buy a mattress but nope! to me, a guitar was more important. This one was a semi-acoustic. I had a lot of fun time with this buddy too before I gave it away.


10373488_1249245131771126_4730420098864659021_n.jpg
That's me holding my third guitar, Dexter 3.0

The last guitar I ever own was a blue semi-acoustic Hansom guitar.

I didn't give this out out as a gift. I sold it for 10sbd when sbd was pretty high. By the time I was selling this guitar my love for the instrument had greatly reduced.

So that's all guys. I don't play guitar anymore because I don't have the time.

Thank you for reading. See you later.


This is my Throwback Thursday post for this week.

Throwback Thursday is a weekly steemit show where steemians share pictures and stories from their past. It is anchored by @gee1. Please click on this link to read her post and participate.

Stay awesome.

Sort:  

"So that's all guys. I don't play guitar anymore because I don't have the time."

This sounds to me more like, "I don't play guitar anymore because I am not passionate about it like I used to"

We are in the same shoes.

I played Guitar for my church, more than 5 boys in my Church learned it and now do the playing. The last time I held a Guitar was years back.

Work, life, and other passion ha taken over.

But, I am sure I am taking it back somebody because I have promised myself that all my kids will do one or two things with musical instrument.

Thanks for sharing @tojukaka

Bro revamp your love for Strings else the spirit dexter 3.0 will hunt you ( why 10sbd?is that how cheap i am) smiling... Lovely write-up bro was really thrown aback...

SBD was like 4,000naira

It was pretty damn high

Oh, i see why you had to

Ini posting menarik dan sudah kami upvote yah.. :)

Sudah kami follow.. 8-)

Wooh this is cool brother i also play violin though wish i could learn to play guitar also

If you have music ears, and you can play violin, it would be pretty easy to learn how to play guitar. I taught myself how to play guitar

Thanks brother am working on it wanna get person guitar first

The spirit behind the sound of a guitar is amazing. It takes one to another realm. Its so beautiful. Same with keyboard... Oh my love for those two instruments ehn... Kai

Thanks for letting us into your world. I never had the chance to see you play the strings but I can imagine how good and passionate you're on it. You can re ignite your love for 🎸 by beginning to do what draws you closer to the strings in the first place.

Music is the part of life of we human it bring joy to us and help us to enjoy our company anytime anywhere love the art of music

I never knew you play the guitar! Another fantastic secret about the amazing @tojukaka.

I used to learn to play too. Wasn't quite a master at it before I left it off to pursue other things.

I really used to love the guitar.

As i was reading, i thought "this should go for tbt with gee1", then i saw it. Hahaha.
I need to start taking steps to learn Guitar.

Really cool throwback. Sad you cant play anymore for short of time. I personally love the instrument. Music adds color to our black and white lives

I also have passion for strings back then in secondary school but I couldn't learn because I was a left handed ✋ guy.

It doesn't matter, there are guitar made specifically for left handed individuals. You would even see a lot of guitar charts to get you started.

Yeah I know
But back then no one has a left handed ✋ guitar I can learn with.
And currently I don't have interest to learn any longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44