I Keep Claiming AccountssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

I noticed my Resource Credits almost recharged completely so I just claimed another account. This brings my present total up to

steem.png

Thus far, I used 3 of the ones I claimed to establish accounts for some people. It is an easy way to get someone going who is interested in partaking in what Steem has to offer very quickly. Since the accounts had no SP associated with it, I delegated some to ensure people could operate on the blockchain.

At present, I feel the RC system is still a bit too expensive. I am not worried about myself since I really have no need to set up thousands of accounts. In fact, I probably do not need the 19 that I have. Yet I keep claiming them.

The reason I feel the RC system need adjusting is the applications cannot on-board thousands of users a day with the price of new accounts. This is going to hinder growth over time. I know the Witnesses are watching this closely and do have the ability to adjust things.

As for why I keep claiming accounts, my view is simple: decentralization. Everyone who has enough RC should claim them if possible. This is spreading out the ability to on-board from one to many. I do not know if I can pass these claimed accounts on at some point, but I figure there will be a use for them at some point. Besides, if I do not use my resource credits on a daily basis (I can do an account roughly every 30+ hours), it goes to waste. Just like unused voting power, you cannot recoup it.

I took a quick run though some of the applications and where they stand. I do not know how many accounts they put into use but these are their balances.

@steemhunt

steem.png

@actifit

steem.png

@steemmonsters

steem.png

@blocktrades

steem.png

I do know a few of these accounts are putting accounts into use on a daily basis. @steemmonsters, for example, put 28 into use the other day. I imagine these are people who are truly interested in playing the game.

There is a lot of talk on here about the retention rate. I believe going through the applications is a great way to increase it. Also, if individuals who have enough RC (I think every Dolphin is able to get at least a couple accounts a week) sign up people they know, it is likely these will be more dedicated Steemians.

To me, this is a step in the decentralization direction. We now see that account creation is not exclusively in the hands of Steemit. There are others who are able to provide people accounts without the wait. It is only a trickle now but, hopefully, over time, it will increase.

Therefore, I will just keep claiming accounts as my RC allows.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

I'm also doing this.
And also don't know what to do with these accounts (but actually got 3-4 people onboard already)

I'm sure someone worked out the minimum SP to viably claim accounts... was it about 2500SP? Does anyone remember?

i'm also curious what the SP need is to be able to do it. I remember I tried at a little over 3,000 a while ago and i wasn't able to make one. It kept going up, so I didn't look into it again.

I claimed an account for myself and you need around 4700 Steem Power.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pretty sure the RC cost to claim varies over time. Looks like it's climbing.
Thanks for spreading the word about @rustle btw :)

Yeah, thanks Uncle Ninj :)

Now it is close to 4500SP

Stupid question : how do I claim an account ? does it come with the same options ( recovery by steemit inc) as if created by the defualt method ?

https://steemconnect.com/sign/claim_account?creator=@ username &fee=0.000%20STEEM&extensions=[]

Copy/paste to browser and put itstime in place of username....also get rid of the spaces before and after username...then follow the usual for steemconnect of username and active key.

I am not sure of the recovery methods being available. I guess if you have the original posting key from from the account, it should be available but I cannot swear to that.

Tks man, and the big advantage this way is that you get an account instantly ?

You get the claim instantly...you still have to activate the account.

@mcfarhat wrote a script that works well. I was going to look for the link...it might be quicker to fire him a message on discord

I got about 16... Catchin’ Up 😬

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just followed your lead....got myself a little more STEEM.

Sub 60 cents, hard to pass up.

Comn’ mannnn, I was trying to catch up to you 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

🏆 Hi @taskmaster4450! You have received 0.2 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
More about the subscription feature can be found here :)

Hello @taskmaster4450 yesterday I tried to claim an account for my daughter laurasoares (the name is avaiable) but I do not have enough resources. I'm not a dolphin I will wait.

Your post was selected and voted by the curator @pataty69 project looking for excelent rewards on great content posts that can be followed on my trail at Steemauto.

Know my project: Curation @pataty69

Posted using Partiko Android

Posted using Partiko Android

It does keep getting more expensive to claim them. I tried the first week with 2k sp and was just short. I had 2.5k a week or so later and just short again. Tried again last week with 3.5k and it had risen again. Every time i tried the number of RC had gne higher than the last time. It's not a huge deal i just bought one for 3 steem which is nothing but for applications wanting to onboard 1000 people per day it could be an issue.

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 0 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

I will start to follow your step and start to claim an account every 3 days.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have 30 or so; how do you actually use them to create an account? Is there a guide somewhere?

@mcfarhat created this script that works well. I used it to create some accounts.

I will see if I can find the file....

If not, you can just message him on discord and I am sure he has the link where he saved it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72