Sort:  

Mandarin flagged me when I refused to upvote his post after asking me this in a direct message on steemitchat, which came out of nowhere. I wanted to demotivate him from asking/ begging for upvotes and respect the etiquette on Steemit. After finding out that he actually took time to flag me, I flagged (which are already removed) his posts and tried to explain that with his reputation compared to mine he would lose more than me so he would think twice before downvoting for no reason. Too much time spent on this matter in my honest opinion. I hope he learned from this. No bad intentions from this side.

I’m not sure if you came across this useful tool which can be used to see who flagged first. https://helloacm.com/tools/steemit/who-downvote-you/

Unfortunately this tool does not show the subsequent removal of flags.

The tool shows that he downvoted the same post twice. However it does not show that immediately after the down votes he removed them, and then gave you an upvote for the same blog. You can see all this on steemdb.com

It is clear that he down-voted you first. However, the down vote seems to have been removed quickly.

I had a look at the blockchain on steemdb here, and he seems to have down-voted you, then immediately removed the downvote, then down-voted the same post a second time, then removed the downvote almost immeditaely, then he upvoted your post 100%. Much later he removed the upvote.

I see he is a new user from January 2018, so my knee jerk reaction is that he downvoted you by mistake, and then changed it to an upvote, which he later removed when you downvoted him. I can’t be sure that was the exact sequence of events, as I can’t see the time on steemdb.

That is my assessment based on the proximity of the block numbers.

It will be interesting if he presents his side of the story. Obviously he was wrong to ask you for votes, and if his downvote was a mistake, then he hurt himself by asking for the vote.

Given that he is a brand new user to steemit, I think he can be forgiven. If there are any flags that either of you have not already removed, it would be courteous to do so now.

Bookmarked the link :) Thanks. It should be something like how you described. I do not care that he downvoted me since it has little impact on my post/rep. I am also a new user from January 10th. Actually celebrating my first month on Steemit :-)

My mistake, I thought that I had removed the flags yesterday since it was my main goal that he would understand that flagging for no reason can cause more pain than gain. Later today I found one flag on a comment because of your reply, which has been removed this afternoon right after I found out.

Edit:
I used the handy link that you gave me and found two flags.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58