Nuns Dance And The Marching To The Main Stage For The Yeonsanjae Ritual In Bongwon-sa Temple,

in #busy6 years ago

I saw nuns were waiting for their order.
It seemed that they were praying.
They never had moved for waiting their order.
Also I couldn’t read their expressions in their face.
It was mysterious.

_6060325.JPG

_6060328.JPG

Monks dance was followed by Nuns.
Nuns dance was calm and elegant.
They did not move active.

_6060333.JPG

_6060336.JPG

_6060340.JPG

_6060345.JPG

_6060348.JPG

Nuns dance was similar to that of Royal ceremony.
It seemed to influence each other in my point of view.
Dance and Music were the expression of the order of the world in Confucian philosophy in Korea.
In my view, Confucian adapted Buddhist dance and music for their purpose.

Monks were turning around nuns while they were dancing.

_6060349.JPG

_6060361.JPG

Those kind of dance reminded me of the Tai-chi.

While the ceremony for receiving souls was performing, other monks were praying.
At that time, a hand of monk came into my eyes.
It seemed that his hand told me something.
He was turning the Buddhist rosary.

_6060331.JPG

After finishing the receiving ceremony, they marched to the main gate.

_6060482.JPG

_6060484.JPG

_6060483.JPG

_6060486.JPG

_6060487.JPG

_6060485.JPG

This white and purple lotus flower decorated box was a symbol of the carrier for the souls received.

_6060508.JPG

_6060488.JPG

_6060492.JPG

_6060493.JPG

During the march, I saw the monks blowing flutes
The traditional flute was said as the one of the most difficult instrument to blow.
The face of musician monk turned into red.

_6060502.JPG

Finally they arrived at the main gate.

Sort:  

Maybe it is an interesting ceremony, parade, and dancing ritual to see @slowwalker because I haven't witnessed it personally by myself except from the videos online. I never thought that there were also nuns in Buddhism too.

I'm struck by the parallels between Buddhistic ceremony and Catholic liturgy.

They both have nuns and monks, wear coloured vestments, walk in sacred processions carrying relics with symbolic meaning such as the flower box.

Both religions pray the rosary.

Many intriguing similarities, @slowwalker.

Did your mother ever notice or remark on these parallels?

Hahaha, we already had noticed some similarities between Buddhism and Catholic

Espectacular la ceremonia.
Siempre me ha fascinado esta cultura.
Espero la hayas disfrutado al máximo.
Saludos y Gracias por compartir la experiencia.

I admit to playing the traditional flute really need high skil and good experience, I want to show you the traditional wind instruments from Aceh-Indonesia and I am sure you must be very amazed, one day I will show it to you @ slowwalker. I am happy to see the parade in this blog! I am waiting for your arrival in my blog in the future, thanks @slowwalker 🤗

You got a lot of beautiful photos.
Thanks for showing us this.

Excellent job, good job friend

Thank you for sharing this beautiful ritual, I read that in the past it took about 3 days and nights but now lasts a day. As it is a ritual that comforts the souls of deceased to comfort and guide them to the Buddhist land of bliss.

Also I have read that due the Sewol Ferry Disaster with 325 students of age 16-17, it is a remembering day too.

I believe those nuns probably pray for those souls. That is really important fest and it is amazing that born during Goryeo period still exist and carried out.

Cheers, @Stef1

That must have been pretty cool to witness @slowwalker.

On a related note, I recently learned about buddhist prayer flags on a documentary about India. Buddhists believe that by writing prayers on flags and hanging them in the wind (sometimes in mountainous locations) these intentions will be carried through the world by the wind. A nice thought.

How interesting to know this culture so special through your photos friend that beautiful connection ..

Excellente***** Like always.

keeping shining*****

Lovely and peaceful weekend @slowwalker ;-)426095_3351218026007_229606719_n.jpg

the same clothes, the same place, the compactness we can see here, the routine they have been doing for long time,@slowwalker,☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59