[Surfer's log] Rincon Point, California

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody!

Welcome Chris! He is a California local and a lifelong surfer. Before Chris met me about ten years ago, his careless days were passing just like that:

IMG_0469.JPG

But after he married some chick from the former USSR (aka me) in 2010, his life turned into this:

IMG_5730 copy.jpg

Hehe, I'm kidding. We briefly traveled to Russia where I'm from and where my parents still live. But our home is in California where Chris continues to catch waves and I take pictures of him and other surfers. Surf photography became my passion and hobby, though I'm into many other things.

IMG_0447.JPG

All surfers have heard of Rincon Point in Southern California and know the best waves come during winter. It's considered a measuring stick for quality as the waves here can roll for one kilometer! However, the surf season doesn't extend into the summer as the Channel Islands, just 40 kilometers off shore, block south swells.

IMG_6588 copy.jpg

But people who live nearby (Rincon is 10 min away from Santa Barbara) can sometimes get lucky and ride waves during off season. This is called wind swell, waves that form from high winds just off the coast, not 3000 miles away in Alaska, like it happens during winter. But when the high season finally begins, surfing at Rincon without a large crowd is a rare case.

IMG_3924.JPG

We are planning to wake up super early tomorrow and get to the beach before the sunrise. Chris hopes to ride some tubes and I hope to take some decent shots. Wanna see if that works out for us? Stay tuned!



Sort:  

вот взяла и похвасталась сразу всем - и что живешь у океана, и что мужЫг адреналинщик, прям чтоб вся русскоязычная диаспора обзавидовалась )))

гыгы, да все, мне кажется, и так знали))

waves and a very beautiful beach, thank you very much for sharing. @santa-barbara

thanks for your comment!;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @santa-barbara to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

POST for Thanks Bro

I'm following back and I'm sharing the content of followers organically. My account for following back is:@followback

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 8.18% vote... I was summoned by @santa-barbara! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Nice introduction to Rincon! I've never been there myself, but hope to someday surf there. I'm a surfer from the South Orange County area. I normally surf at Trestles where there's surf year round. It's a point break just like Rincon!

I've heard of Trestles but have never been there. It's a bit far for us to drive and obviously Chris wouldn't have this benefit of being a local dude))) May be when they finally open the 101 again after this disastrous mud slide we will make a trip there! Hope to see you some day at Rincon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43