You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Regarding Flags vs. Downvotes

in #busy5 years ago

I don't like the functionality at all. At its best it is a feature that punishes controversial discussions. At worst, it is a tool for haves to bully the have nots. I understand the motivation but I believe there are large unintended consequences if we aren't careful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Well as a stakeholder I think it is extremely important we have the ability to fight abuse. We just have to teach people it is normal to receive flags.

If we have large stakeholders abusing their power that is a different issue which has nothing to do with the UI design.

The same tool that can fight abuse can lead to abuse. In my time using Steem I've received several dollars in down votes for expressing unpopular opinions.

Down votes are supposed to counter abuse. Despite having this feature, certain individuals earn the largest shares of the rewards pool by making several posts a day containing absolutely zero text. Why do I not mention them by name? I'm concerned about getting singled out by their followers, as I have been in the past.

Right now, the rich abuse the system with impunity because they can down vote you harder than you can down vote them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Changing the blockchain rules is not being discussed. We are discussing how to best communicate how the blockchain works via an Interface.

Alright then. The best idea is to remove it entirely from the UI. It's not like steemit hasn't done that before.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear your opinion and I get it, but I couldn't disagree more. :)

Said with complete respect.

Agree to disagree, then!

Posted using Partiko Android

that sounds very fair.

Have you ever read the white paper? Not being snarky. I just can't imagine thinking the site could function and distribute rewards without also having the ability to cancel out those rewards.

Yes, I have. If the downvote worked then we wouldn't have people like H....n taking all of the rewards with zero text posts. It may not work without it but it also doesn't do a great job with it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Youre mixing up abuse and opinion which is ecactly the problem this change will exacerbate.

Posted using Partiko Android

The most sensible comment of all. THIS is exactly what will happen

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63