2018 Goal # 1: New Language (Mandarin) Class 1 & 2

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit Community!
Its the 3rd week of 2018 & I went straight into the Goal Mode from where I left my last post. I signed up to learn Mandarin. Learning a new language it's a unique chapter.The foundation of communication is in a different structure from the language you mastered. The method of pronunciation, accent & style completely differ from the language you acquired. However, with time & practice you would be eventually able to speak the basics of all.


Image : Communication is a form of art. Take time to enjoy learning it! :)

In this post, I will share some of the basics words on what I have learned. However, it is very important to learn the pronunciation method & for Mandarin, it is the Han Yu Pin Yin pronunciation. I strongly encourage to attend a class, tutor or online learning platform so you master the pronunciation, vowels, tones, consonants. This is because, the words may spelled similar, but it could have different pronunciation method & total different meaning.


Day 1:
Below are some of the useful greetings that I learned:

  • Hello : Ni hao
  • How are you : Ni hao Ma?
  • I am well: Wo hen hao
  • Thank you: Xie Xie
  • You're welcome: Bu ke qi
  • Welcome: Huan Ying
  • See you again: Zai Jian

Identification:

  • I/Me : Wo
  • You: Ni
  • He/She/It: Ta
  • We: Wo men
  • They: Ta men
  • Everyone: Da jia

Day 2: I learned on how to pronounce occupations. Below are some of the common ones:

Employee: Yuan Gong
Nurse: Hu Shi
Doctor*: Yi Sheng
Teacher: Lao Shi
Cook/Chef: Chu Shi
Engineer: Gong Cheng Shi
Accountant: Kuai ji Shi
Manager: Jing Li
Boss: Lao Ban
Policeman: Jing Cha
Executive: Xing Zheng Ren Yuan
Student: Xue Sheng
Pilot: Fei Ji Shi
Driver: Shi Ji
Mechanic: ji Gong
Supplier: Gong Ying Sung


For my practice, I need to introduce myself in Mandarin. Below is how introductions may sound like:

English:
Hello everyone. My name is Omniknight. I am 26 years old. I live in Kuala Lumpur. I work as IT Executive

Mandarin:
Da jia, Ni How. We de ming zi shi Omniknight.Wo jin nian er shi liu shui. Wo zu zai Kuala Lumpur. Wo de gong zuo zhe IT Xing Zheng Ren Yuen

Useful Tips:
I began to understand why some of our Chinese friends would arrange their sentence oppositely on how we arrange when we speak in English. It is because of their word arrangements.

Mandarin Sentence Structure:
They would either start their sentence with either "Subject (Who)" or "Time (When)" first, then they would place the "Place (Where)" and the"Action (Verb-Object)".

I hope this inspires people out there who would like to try out new things.
Lets motivate each & other along the way.

Please share your knowledge / experience / view on this..
Alternatively, please share this to anyone that might be useful for them.

Cheers!
Omniknight :)
Do stay tune for my next article as it would be on my Diving Class

Pic Credit to user "quillau" from Pixabay.

Sort:  

Congratulations @omniknight! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @omniknight! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @omniknight! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42