You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Tribes and Tags and Downvotes

in #busy5 years ago

so if I downvote you on one platform it will impact all of your tags.

Same here so I really hope people are being careful. It's not my problem if they lose more than they bargained for and I'm certainly not going to go out of my way to make several accounts just to make their life easier.

It's a simple concept. Do the right thing.

Every downvote I gave out in CCC so far, I started with an apology and a direct note stating what's happening. I've had no problems with backlash. All but one was respectful and some even vote for my posts now. Wtf that's all about, I - don't - know.

Sort:  

I usually leave an explanation and in most cases I'm very polite. I rarely get revenge downvotes and if I do, I just let the moment pass.

Yup, just ignore the tantrums.

Yeah I think the explanation is the way to go. Hopefully will lead to a change in behaviour if the person specifically knows why they were downvoted.

I think that the apology and polite explanation of the reason for the downvote is what makes all the difference. Most of the time, the downvotes I come across have no explanation behind them. In fact, the ones I've copped have been from accounts which just seem to be one a downvote rampage and pretty random. I don't think they have a reason for their downvotes, other than that they are upset about something with the system.

If I go to the steemit trending page and downvote, 7 times out of 10, all of my posts and comments will get downvoted. Those people are babies. So annoying.

Being extra gentle does help... but not on steemit's trending page.

I guess the trending page needs to be downvoted from multiple angles then. Enough people downvote and they'll have to spread their votes thinner and might end up with low VP and low value votes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Or we just have to suck up the backlash for a while.

Do what is right, regardless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59