How Much Resource Credits do you Need to Engage? Not as Much as you Think!

in #busy6 years ago

4398C69E-AC90-43B6-A0CB-093EE133EC94.jpeg

Source

Since the Hard Fork, I have been closely monitoring the use of my Resource Credits. My focus on this new feature probably relates to the huge issues I as well as the community had after the Hard Fork to do anything other than browse on #STEEM given some bugs that took this new metric to negative figures. However, even after these bugs were fixed, the economy of resource credits became an interesting challenge as now actions had a direct cost to your stake. This has been mostly fixed but the costs continue to fluctuate. I have been watching these costs from the Beempy website (link below) which are updated by @holger80.

After most of the bugs where fixed, I have never had an issue with engaging in the platform despite me being quite active throughout a normal day. I would normally sit for an hour or two to catch up on my feed and write my posts these days. In addition, with the launch of @steemmonsters I have played well over two to three dozen games at a time which I feared would use up bandwidth given everything going on there. However, I have never seen my resource credit bandwidth go below 98% at any given time. I will admit that this is mainly a function of my stake and being a Dolphin does help enormously for me not having to be really concerned with this use of my Resource Credits.

Another feature from the Hard Fork was the ability to claim accounts which I previously discussed. While I still cannot say what I will do with these claimed accounts, I believe that having them can be a benefit as the ecosystem continues to expand and DApps become more engaging. I also hope we can interact and support more new users to foster improved retention around the community. After being able to successfully claim my first account shortly after the launch of the feature thanks to guidance from the community, the resource credit costs of doing this operation have increased substantially as seen below.

Screen Shot 2018-10-30 at 7.24.23 PM.png

Source

However, I was recently noticing how the costs of this function have been volatile but have provided an opportunity to being able to claim an additional account. However, the amount of resource credits needed to claim were very close to the total amount of my resource credits. If I was successful to execute the operation, I would be limited to less than 1% of my normal bandwidth. I quickly did some calculations to know how much I would need on reserve to make a post and at least 4-5 comments and votes.

IMG_5894.jpg

Screenshot taken from SteemWorld.org

Given that it was late at night, I thought I could take that risks as I have also notice that the resource credits recharge pretty quickly for me, again mostly given my stake in the protocol. I quickly ran the operation and to my pleasant surprise, it was executed! However, after refreshing my available resource credits from steemworld.org (thanks to @steemchiller for this great service; please support him and the development), I saw my bandwidth drop to 0.24%! However, given my stake this still represented over 21 billion in resource credits.

IMG_5893.jpg

Screenshot taken from SteemWorld.org

I was about to go to bed so I was not concerned of the limitations I would have on engaging with the platform. Despite this low amount, I was still able to post my daily @actifit post and provide an upvote and comment on another post before calling it a night! I think this demonstrates the importance of accumulating STEEM and powering it up. The advantage of having a great stake will ultimately provide flexibility and an extended reached to not only engage but to provide support to many communities seeking to add value to the ecosystem. Given the price of #STEEM and the amount of activity or lack thereof, there has never been a better opportunity to accumulate more since I have started here early this year. I intend to add as much as I can to avoid these "close calls” and to also continue claiming accounts for whatever potential they can bring in the future.

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Wow! Surely did cut it close there but its great that you were able to create a new account! Any idea on how to deploy thr new account yet?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post, still don't under the resource credits all that well, but like you just focus on accumulating steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41