First Discussion with Family on Cryptocurrencies steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

Crypto Coin pexels-photo-843700.jpeg

Source

I wanted to ensure that I keep the routine of posting daily despite the commitments that one has this time of year. Balance is always the key and spending time with family is always a great way to gain perspectives of the environment around us. This year I have seen an interesting dynamic of family members doing much better for themselves while continuing with their undisciplined practices. It continues to be a consumer driven economy as those take any increases in wages they get or costs they reduce to continue to consume and live beyond their means.

Whereas I have started to curtail my spending to prepare for changes to come, many continue to live the moment and pursue the pursuit of material happiness while getting deeper into a financial challenge. I have started to discuss with many family members these ideas of the importance of being prepared for the next financial crisis which led me to an interesting discussion of cryptocurrencies that I have yet to have with many of them as I am more of an introvert and have little drive to discuss opinions openly even with family members.

While avoiding the political aspects of the discussion, I explained in summary of how the United States and many other developed countries got out of the financial crisis by essentially printing more money. They then asked how we are not seeing the same impact that countries like Argentina and Venezuela see in their currencies. I explained how the US Dollar is the world reserve currency and is used for international commerce which is what maintains the demand and value of the currency despite the trillions being issued. However, given the amount of debt being issued to support the economy and its production like lower taxes, there will be a breaking point. If you add the fact that interest rates need to increase given the need to maintain the incentive to hold the debt, they fiscal balance is becoming highly dependent on the performance of the economy and its participants.

That led to a discussion of how to store value and precious metals. Most have always heard of the history of gold and how it retains its value. The importance was how it can help in hold its value. However, it quickly led to discussion of how powerful organizational have become to control these assets and even the possibilities of confiscating assets. I have them my recent example of the tax authorities embargoing my bank accounts without notice or warning. This is when cryptocurrencies finally came into the discussion.

I did not intend to get into the technical aspect of blockchain with them so I simply did an experiment. I ask one of them to download the Abra app for their mobile phone. After explaining the security measures needed, I scanned the WR code and sent them $5 worth of Litecoin. The transaction confirmed in less than 5 minutes with less than $0.01 in fees. They quickly said that their bank’s cash apps could do the same or PayPal could as well. I challenged them to do the same and no two people could do the same without first either setting up accounts or verifying identification and/or account information. The one that did in a similar time had the same bank but we did not know if the money was available immediately to spend. I then asked which of all the alternatives kept others away from your funds... The banks can close your account and freeze funds, PayPal the same but nobody can do it for a cryptocurrency wallet that is controlled by you with private keys!

Minds were blown despite skeptism remaining... Why? Questions related to where cryptocurrencies are accepted as payment or how to secure value as unfortunately the $5 I sent turned to $4.89 in a couple of minutes. The fact was that the same culture that has led most of us to the consumerist society we are also have a control to how we think of money. However, I was happy to have the discussion as it allowed me to feel comfortable with my thought regarding why I have assets in cryptocurrencies and why I want more of it there. It also showed me that I need to get a better “elevator pitch” when discussing this so I have already started putting together some talking points when these opportunities arise.

The family has typically looked to me for knowledge in these aspects. I have helped members through bankruptcies, home purchases, credit consolidations, 401(k) alllocations, among many others. I hope they will remember this discussion as crypto becomes more mainstream and eventually a part of our daily lives. The next time around, I will bring them all free Steem accounts I have claimed with some SP delegation to get them all into the ecosystem! Looking forward to the Holiday Season this year and the exciting time it is to be alive!

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

It was awesome to see everyone trying something new!. Great discussion for sure!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That was a good pitch.

I wouldn't even know how to start. Steem is my first experience with cryptocurrencies.

"as crypto becomes more mainstream and eventually a part of our daily lives."You said it,that's true.

Well, you sparked some interest at least. It doesn't matter that the price went down slightly, it could have been the other way around too. I think it's a great way to get people interested. Here, everyone who knows me knows about crypto. I can't stop talking about it. My kids even know which coins I'll be looking at when I check the scores.
It's funny how friends who weren't interested before (getting sick of my rambles) would later say: 'Oh, there's really something about that crypto of yours' when they hear some success story of someone who bought a house with it or something. Yeah, duh, that's what I've been trying to explain lol.

It has to start somewhere and I prefer that my friends and famiy hear it from me as I do think that many out there will fail. Thanks for passing by!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh absolutely, that's the reason why I tell pretty much anyone about it. :)

I'm glad you promoted this one for the blocktrades contest. I didn't see it when it was first published. Great going! And it's clear you did plant some seeds that are going to take root.

🏆 Hi @newageinv! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @taskmaster4450
Subscribe: automatically support steem authors + earn profit :)

I am follow you and give you upvotes please return me

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks! Glad you saw it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70