Long Story - Four Days of the Catastrophe - Part 1

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

image.png

Late at night, I woke up with a horrible voice that I couldn't figure out if it was coming from the sky or earth and threw myself out of my bed. I looked right and left to see what was going on when the floor under me was shaking badly. The wall of the room that I was in was destroyed. I remained still for a while, doubting that I had a dream, and when the shaking continued to intensify, I hurried forward. I pulled the door to myself to get out of the room. When I realized that the door hadn't opened, I barely stood up, but I stumbled and fell because of the shaking. I crawled backward and looked at the wall where the door was located. The wall was curved side by side with the door frame. When I turned around, I saw my pocket computer on the table. After I took the device and put it in my pocket, I crawled to the edge of the room where the wall was no longer there and looked down. I could see I was on the second floor of a hotel.

I said that because I had no idea who I was and when I came to that hotel. A new jolt hit the chandelier on the ceiling, and it fell behind me. So I hung my feet down and jumped from the second floor after little indecision.

The Earth was wet, and after I fell, I threw myself side by side; I controlled the damage by listening to my body where I lay. I think my left ankle was slightly sprained, and I had a few scrapes in my legs.

I barely stood up, I was afraid that the building would fall on me, so I went to the sea, and sat at a bank. I was taking deep breaths to calm myself. I started to assess my condition. I had no idea who I was and why I was there, and the last thing I remember was that my room was filled with red light and then I heard a terrible noise. I thought it was an earthquake and the power was out. I was supposed to be safe now, but I wasn't sure that my loved ones were safe. It felt terrible not knowing who I should save during this great disaster. What if I have kids! I took my pocket computer to look at the pictures and phone numbers inside, but I didn't remember the initial password, so how would a person who didn't even know his name know the password?

I tried to stand up, but I got back to my old position because my right ankle was so gnawing. I laid down to the bank and put my hands under my head, and I started thinking about what my next move should be. I don't know how long I've been there with the shock.

The wind blowing from the sea caused me to tremble, and the stagnant surface of the sea was rising and descending like the breast of a sleeping child. A whistle sounded by the hotel, and two men I could hardly see in the dark were calling me. When I got up and rechecked my body, I met a terrible view. On the horizon, under the reddish black sky, there were giant waves, and they were heading towards the beach. I started running up without worrying about hurting myself. I think the guys who called me also saw the waves; they started running up in a hurry. I just stumbled into an obstacle before I could advance 20 meters. When I looked back at the sea and saw the waves approaching the beach, I figured out that they were moving faster than I thought. I got up and started running up the hills across with my full strength. I was running so fast that it took me only a few seconds to get to the road passing by the hotel. I went across the road and went through the two buildings across and ran up the hill. I thought I was far enough away from the sea, so I turned around and looked back. Giant waves -I saw two waves in succession- reaching the coastal place under the purple darkness of the sky. The height of the waves was more than I expected, so I continued to run uphill with my strength to save my life. At the top of the hill, a shepherd's fire was burning; where I could hardly see people calling me with exaggerated hand gestures. I turned around and looked at the sea direction again in fear. The sparkling waters of the two waves breaking at the road level were reaching towards me like white arms of a terrible giant. My effort to escape from the range of the stream was not enough, the waters of the first wave which passed through the cascade, grew to me and cut off my feet of the ground with terrible violence. In the turbulence of the water, I thought that the waters of the second wave have reached the point where I was, because before I had full balance in the water, then I was back on top of my head.

My lungs were going to explode because I couldn't get to the surface. I put myself on the stream for a while to gather my strength, and then I took my head off the surface of the water with a strong move. As soon as I got to the surface, I took deep breaths and checked around. Because there was no new wave coming from the horizon, the sea was now drawn to its bed, and I was losing the distance I had traveled on the ground. Swimming backward was not a matter and even standing on the water was hard. It was clear I had to hold onto something. On the water, only the branches of a plane tree and the hotel's main building were visible. I started swimming towards the plane tree that seemed more accessible.

The water was cold, my breath was about to be cut, and there was quite a distance from the plane tree I was aiming to reach. I guess my blood pressure had fallen, because I was now sinking into the water and my eyes were dim, and I had no power to resist the anaphors who threw my body around. It was unfortunate to die without knowing who I was and what happened to me. The most worrying part of the situation was that I didn't know if I had a family to protect. If I were to die, I would have forsaken them in this redneck apocalypse.

I was closer to where the plane tree was. With one last effort, I continued swimming through the tree. A side-flow helped me to catch one of the branches of the plane in this chaotic environment where the dark waters mingled. I hugged the branch by a great desire as if it were my girlfriend. I felt the beating of my heart in my skull, and I trembled with a deep breath as the sea water licked the lower part of my body. I was hanging in the air when the water beneath me was low, and I wrapped my legs in the branch of the tree and reduced the load on my arms. I sat on the tree branch holding onto a top branch. When I looked up at the sky, I noticed that the air was clear and that the stars were as close as I could catch them. I think the apocalypse was breaking up and something inside me said I wasn't sinless.

Image Source: https://unsplash.com/photos/Uv2BaNZjjvY

Sort:  

Great story, nice rhythm! For me wa pretty cinematographic, i surely felt the agony of that men. '' I hugged the branch by a great desire as if it were my girlfriend.'' This part make me laugh a lot and seemed to me like a great way to describe how we can hold up so hard to stay alive. Thanks for the great work, keep going!

Another exciting writing series from you. Thank you for these valuable post s.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for expressing the appreciation :)

man...I WOULD HAVE SHIT IN MY PANTS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I had no idea who I was and when I came to that hotel

Isn't that ironic. That's how most people are. They have no idea who they are, where are they come from and how they appeared in the current place and time. Any social theory, no matter how weird it might be, could easily lift them from the ground and throw in an unknown direction. )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25