Public Speaking: 5 formula to get you started.

in #busy6 years ago

It has been a long day since I got up from bed, and it has been filled with so many activities. Especially when you can't resist the urge of some promising ICO, and airdrops alert.
Few days ago, a friend approached me asking me whether I'm a public speaker and if yes, can I help out. He needs me to render a favour for someone. I know at that point I can't start explaining my principle of not to be tagged or seen as a motivational or even a public speaker but as an individual with a true mind.
I was reluctant about turning him down because the favor is very urgent. Notwithstanding, I didn't accept either. So, I performed a reflex action which seems to him that I am willing to help. Do you know why I complied? Because I don't want the belief to spring from my mouth, that is, I am a public speaker. I allowed him act on the supposed reflex action, long story cut short.

He wanted me to help a friend of his who has an oratory competition in few days. They exchanged my contact and boom here she is in my DM. She told me about the oratory competition and immediately I approached my shelf to check for an appropriate manual to use. There and then, I stumbled upon what you are about to read on “Public Speaking Aspect”
I could remember vividly I was in third year in college when I went for this training at the The Presenters Academy. An academy that specializes in polishing and mentoring students who have skills, knowledge, passion and experience in presentation, public speaking aspect etc.
Prior to that, I enrolled for the Oratory Contest organized by a renowned communication organization in partnership with my college. I understand the nits grit of what she might be preparing for. I could have shared my little experience of the oratory competition with you but maybe some other time.

Now, these are the 5 paramount formula when it comes to public speaking aspects;

Your first 60 SECONDS

download.png
Source

Often times, speakers want to pay homage or reverence their hosts for acknowledging their presence or for inviting them over.

Do Not Do This

This is a crucial and critical time for your audience to decide whether they're going to pay close attention or secretly take out their phones when bored.
Imagine you're facing a firing squad and you have a chance to convince the commander not to shoot you. Your reason should be mesmerizing enough to convince him to lower his squad's guns and sit down and listen to you. Assume your audiences are the firing squad and they must not kill you within the short period of 60 seconds.

If you are TERRIFIED, be bold enough to say it to them

images (1).jpeg
Source

Don't be too pompous to give a sweet, perfect and no pointed holes speech. Hence, you can fail woefully. Perhaps, you can come up with an engaging way to share your feelings. Better still tell a story about someone who overcame his/her fears.
Note however that, you cannot afford to admit your fears without a remedy. Show them how great your message is that it is worth facing your fears.

Know your AUDIENCES

download.jpeg
Source

I could remember when I was in Delta State, for Steem Camp Initiative Meet up. While hosting the program, I called out a particular lady with her name and she was shocked and perplexed. Every other persons in the hall were startled at this and with that I caught their attention. Sometimes, as a speaker you need to go extra mile in understanding your audience. Understand what they know, what they don't know about your topics. And how will you do that, know their age bracket, sex, religion and background data. Be informed about their background data. Have a database.

Be the DIRECTOR, manage your space

images (2).jpeg
Source

As for me I always visit the meeting space ahead of time and stand in the speaker's position as well as observe from the audience's perspective. In few cases, don't build all your speech in a slides, what about if the untold happen? Understand which works for you, a podium or pacing back and forth.

SLOW Down

images (1).png
Source

Einstein's Theory of relativity states that, “time moves very fast for a speaker, and very slowly for an audience, unless the speaker is terrific.” The toughest speaking skill to master is to slow down or even pause for effect. For instance, ask your audience some questions, take a good time to pause and allow them to process the answers in their head even though they ain't going to say it.

Public Speaking should be an Art!

steemflourish.png

I'm not a motivational speaker but an individual that posses a true mind

You can check my previous series below or stop by my blog;

III
III
IV
V

images.jpeg

Please kindly vote for @rival as a witness via

image.png

66h7todwsn.gif

Sort:  

Great tips on public speaking ... Thanks for sharing it will surely help me next time in public speaking for sure. Storing the article in my notes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64