Introducing Steemit to My 8 Year Old!

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

BDD3A318-F2C2-4518-9E03-53C008F06948.jpeg

Last night was interesting! I tried to explain Steemit to my 8 year old. It was difficult, but I was surprised that he actually understood the concept. Sorta.

I knew he had a pretty good concept of what Facebook is, so I started there. I explained, Steemit is like Facebook, but we are rewarded for our post. We can share post and if other people like it, they “tip” us! He thought that was so cool! Thankfully, he did not have any questions about the “rewards.” I wasn’t prepared to talk about Steem Power, Steem, SBD, or where this money comes from! I’m not sure I totally understand it all myself.

I let him play around on the site and he even made some upvotes. I showed him how to use ‘tags’ to search for posts he might like. He saw a few “neat” photos. But what was this Dtube?

He was the most interested about this. Right away he knew it was like YouTube. I just told him that it was built to be part of Steemit, and you’re rewarded there, too! This excited him! He immediately took a video of this centipede outside, and wanted to upload it, but we got distracted. I told him I’d post it later, so here is his first DTUBE video:

So watch out, you might see some random stuff from him!

07EAC3FB-268C-49BB-9427-625F4CC7C1F5.jpeg

#smartphonephotography

Hope you sll have a great Monday!!

Mark & AJ!

Sort:  

That is so awesome that he's getting involved. I was just thinking that it would be an excellent want to add more to the college fund!

My 7 year old has been wanting to start a Youtube channel, since one of his friends at school has a few videos up. I am going to show him around Dtube, and see how it likes that. Especially since Youtube just changed their rules for monetizing channels and it's harder now to make money there.

That is a wonderful idea! I’m gonna look into creating his own account!

What a clever son you have @mcoinz79, I'm sure he will become a Steemian at his time. Lovely to see how your relationship with him is =D

That's awesome. You going to get him an account?

Is there a tool to make sub accounts or do I need to make a new one from scratch?

DM me on discord and I'll give you some options bud.

Nice you have quality time with your son. He looks handsome after his haircut. Tell him I thought he took a great pic of the centipede.

Thankfully, he did not have any questions about the “rewards.” I wasn’t prepared to talk about Steem Power, Steem, SBD, or where this money comes from! I’m not sure I totally understand it all myself.

trust me you're NOT alone.

Thank you for the Post @mcoinz79 . It's really cool you introduced Steemit to him :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 22:02:08
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 299.45/200.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That's super cool! My kids also know about steemit and they understand that we share our stories and other cool stuffs over here. Sometimes my steemit post ideas come from them. They have their own account and we post there whatever escapades they want to share. When we take photos, we no longer say "cheese!". We say, "Steemit!". Lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53