You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Wish I Could Ethically Support Burning SteemIt, Inc's Stake

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I think you could sum it up with,
' neds a twat, but that doesn't justify robbing him' , would just about do it...

I didn't find it hard to write my comment, in the slightest, so don't stress it....

It's not based on subjective feelings.
Theft is an objective 'wrong' in the system that we live in today.

Sort:  

You certainly don't need me to chime in and validate what you're saying, @lucylin, but I do appreciate hearing more people say, that despite anything Ned had purportedly or actually done or not done, robbing him is wrong. The discussion needs to start there before it can possibly go anywhere else, and it has to be without conditions or demands. A little bit of polite asking wouldn't hurt, as some are doing. We don't want to get into full blown begging, though. :)

What I'm failing to understand is, don't we want Steemit Inc powering down their stake in some way? Now people are concerned about it coming back in all kinds of accounts, but that seems a little bothersome, and if Ned intended to vote up witnesses, he could have done it way before now. So, I don't know. There's more to the tale than's been divulged for any side, and frankly, I'm having a hard time trusting anyone in the thick of it. Objectivity, if it ever existed here, has flown the roost.

All issues need to start from the moral absolute of property rights...Starting with your own person, being your own property.

haha. I think the focus of right or wrong is obscuring the focus away from his lack of performance.

They are two completely and utterly separate subjects.

His 'twatiness', has nothing to do with stealing off him.

Anyone trying to conflate the two is just trying to find morale high ground for a justification of an immoral act...

'Conflaters' are twats to. (and a much more vicious breed of twat, I might add...)
' They're all twats', as you said so succinctly, previously!

lol... yep. Welp, I wish I had launched my Drama token before this all went down.

yeah, ultimately like Bitcoin doesn't need Satoshi, neither should Steem need Ned!!

Full Steem Ahead!! (the World's Cryptocurrency and Social Media Network)

There are no objective morals. Moral is what the group, the community, thinks is moral, and opinions will vary, as they will on what is theft and what is not. Absolutes only exist in doctrines, and not everybody subscribes to the same doctrine, a fact often overlooked by zealots who think they own some mythical universal truth.

Taking and burning the pre-mined Steem owned by a few could also be seen as self defense by the community against ill-gotten gains that threaten the value of the community's stake.

Mine are based on property rights. Period.
(If you think you don't own yourself i.e. you are your own property, well, that's not my fault!)

How much steem would there actually be, without steeminc? (serious question).

Property rights are an absolute.
I refuse to accept that I am not my own property.

Do you not accpet that as an absolute moral standard?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49