The Steemit "jerk circle"

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

"You scrub my back, and I'l scrub yours"

I joined Steemit last week, but notice its not a very good forum for posting content.
Seems to be more of a site for people who want to make money easily by upvoting each others content. Which mostly seems to be articles about Steem (yawn).

Its more of an attempt to make nothing (Steem) appear valuable, by promoting "like for like" behaviour. I'll upvote you, if you upvote me back. This means Steem is only valuable to people on Steemit. I think this will inevitably be the websites downfall or will lead to a quick stagnation.

I'm personally giving up on creating content or even bothering to look for anything decent. Its back to Reddit for me, but I'll just do the "like for like" thing and make Steem, and Steem more valuable. Because that seems to be the real goal at the moment.

I'm a content creator and consumer. Making money wasn't my first priority, it was merely a bonus.
The atmosphere here is the opposite. Boring as fuck.

If anybody wants me to write program to automatically upvote, and reply to content let me know in the comments.

I'm probably going to make one for myself.., because its a waste of my time posting content that never gets read, or reading content that's boring as fuck. So over reading content about Steem and its not illegal or against rules to automate processes.

Sort:  

Congratulations @logicaldiscourse! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

My question is how many people did you interact with before you decided it was terrible. Have you read content from the good authors. There are some great posts on @curie @qurator @c-squared that find the best content. There is @helpie for newcomers to the site or apps to use like @actifit @steemhunt @magicdice.

Steemit is only one site on the blockchain which covers a multitude of areas. You said you won't post content for nobody to read but who are you?

Nobody has seen you yet. Would you go onto Instagram and expect hundreds of likes when you don't have any followers. Like any other social site you need to build a follower and build connections to follow. This is still in development stage but there is a lot to offer when you know what is happening. It's not the finished product but we will get there. Hopefully you stick around for a while to find out.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wasn't aware I needed to interact with others.., in order for content to get noticed.

Can you explain what the difference is between me posting content, and how "interacting" with others benefits that? (Sounds like a jerk-circle, but willing to listen)

Nobody has seen me yet, no. So are you saying that Steemit only displays well established members first?

No, I can post in the NEW section just like everyone else. The problem is not many people view the NEW section. And people are posting crap, knowing bots will like their content.

"Networking" here is good because most people will ensure their peers are upvoted each week. So for me to have lots of friends, means more upvotes. Simple. Jerk circle crap.

The system is creating a boring stagnant forum.
The goal isn't for rewarding content creators.
The goal is to make STEEM appear more valuable. More demand. I can o with that, and will just keep making bots and programs instead of posting material or conversing.

Instagram and others lack this jerk circle approach.

You can also post something on other sites and then cross post to here lastly, as nobody will tell you that your plagurising your own work.

Its a meesy time to join here, but its also a new wave happening so stay or go, but it would be good if people like yourself stayed.
Get discord, because thats where to meet other steemians, and also you can freely promote your posts in certain channels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28