Stopping by Las Palmas, Gran Canaria

in #busy5 years ago

Gran Canaria, Las Palmas was a stop on my Xmas 2014 cruise and I spent a day on this island. From memory, I don't remember where I went, what I did, or even what I ate here. I had to go back to my photos to reconstruct my memory for that day.
DSC_1559.JPG


Casa de Colón

This is the Casa de Colón, the former Governer's House, and where the city of Las Palmas was founded in 1478. I have quite a lot of photos of this building, I must have spent quite a bit of time here.

In 1492, Christopher Columbus stayed at Gran Canaries during one of his voyages across the Atlantic, and it was said that he stayed at this particular house. He stopped by Gran Canaries two more times during his other trips to the New World. Thus, the island has a long history with this great explorer, and the house is dedicated to him today.

The house isn't very large, and I remember thinking it didn't seem very grand for a governer. But then, you have to remember Las Palmas isn't a large island and this was built 500 years ago (although it was rebuilt in 1777). Grand it may not be, but by the time I finsihed walking around the island, this was definitely one of the most beautiful building I saw.
DSC_1531 columbus-house.JPG

DSC_1523.JPG

DSCN3558.JPG

DSCN3561.JPG

DSC_1526.JPG

Blue Skies

It was a beautiful day, that I do remember. Everywhere I walked, I could see the clear blue skies above the many unique Gran Canaria style architecture. This was in December, yet the weather was far much better than what we would normally get in UK in the summer. No wonder so many Brits love to move out to this part of the world.
DSC_1542.JPG

DSC_1543 Santa Ana cathedral.JPG

DSCN3576.JPG

DSCN3568.JPG


The cute kids

One thing that kinda stuck to my mind was that I remember seeing a bunch of really cute kindergarten kids out the streets. I checked my photos, and sure enough, there they were.

DSC_1534.JPG

You guys are so noisy, you're giving me a headache



DSC_1535.JPG
What are you looking at?



Narrow Streets

After the Casa de Colón I spent most of my time wandering around aimlessly on the island. I had no plans for the day, which sometimes isn't a bad thing when you go on holiday. Holidays are all about relaxing, not stressing yourself out to rush around.
DSCN3572.JPG

DSC_1538.JPG

DSC_1545.JPG

DSC_1544.JPG

DSC_1539.JPG

DSC_1548.JPG


It turned out not having a plan was perfect. I walked and walked, turning down the narrrow roads. Colourful buildings lined on both sides of the roads, beautiful wood lattice balconies hung above the cobbled streets. I continued to walk, till I got to the beach and finished off my day with an ice cream.
DSCN3578.JPG


Check out all my travel posts here on Steemit Worldmap, and also my latest project @LadiesOfAsia where we share fun and cultural diversity across Asia Pacific.

Sort:  

Aww, these are stunning shots. I love the Canaries, sweet memories :)

Thanks @photorun, appreciate the lovely comment coming from you

There is nothing quite like reviewing photos to help reconstruct our memories. Your images are awesome and the places you visited look so interesting. And of course, those cute kids provided added colour and interest to this post. I agree that it is sometimes a good idea not to have set plans when on holiday as we can often discover fascinating scenes by not being rushed.

You deserved to treat yourself with an icecream after all that walking. I enjoyed this blog very much. Have a great day!

Thanks Trudee. It certainly worked out very well since we were confined to an area within a fixed time slot. Sometimes you don't need to seek out all the most popular tourist attraction, just wattching everyday life go by is equally rewarding

You are so right @livinguktaiwan And wherever we are in the world, it pays to pause and appreciate our surroundings and the differences in cultures.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=stopping-by-las-palmas-gran-canaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 24.25% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @livinguktaiwan! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @livinguktaiwan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.079 which ranks you at #1061 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 46 places in the last three days (old rank 1107).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 366 contributions, your post is ranked at #174.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi, @livinguktaiwan!

You just got a 1.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Goodmorning from my side of the world and thanks for the ocd mention and feature and i saw the ship at the beginning of the blog and i am going to cruise in that part of the world in october ! What a coincidence

You're welcome!

I hope you'll have a great time on the cruise. The med was a lot better than I expected 😊 as my impression of it is just sun amd beach , but turns out there us quite a bit more. Cruising isn't my cup of tea and this one was free as my sister won it in a contest and couldn't go, so it certainly was a nice experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34