Art in the doorway - Japanese Noren

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I’ve always loved the Noren - or fabric dividers that separate rooms in Japan. Especially the ones that hang outside of homes, businesses and restaurants. They serve multiple purposes including just being practical - but the most important I think is that they look amazing.

I was inspired by @oldtimer & @slowwalker & @papa-pepper to give more of a sense of the journey in a couple of posts. I thought Noren were something most outside of Japan would never see, so not a bad thing to share with our Steem community.

IMG_20180326_171931.jpeg

As we’ve been walking around we’ve been quickly snapping some shots of some to put up on Steemit to give you a taste of the variety.

Everything from animals to flowers are depicted.

As you can see they range from just colourful, to iconographic. Some display the names of businesses and some have sayings. I wish I could read Japanese! Maybe one day.

So many different patterns.

And some more for your viewing pleasure.

IMG_20180326_185318.jpeg

Stunning aren’t they?

IMG_20180326_135027.jpeg

I hope you like them too....as I’ll probably have a few more to share before the end of the trip.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 00:54:45
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1271.52/1600.00
Total Photos: 140
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.48 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Are you staying in Kyoto?
Hope to see tons of pics from your trip!

Kyoto and Tokyo! I’ll be posting more when I’m back. Right now i’m Limited to my smartphone as I didn’t work out a solution to get my images off my CF cards. Bah. :)

Enjoy!
Love the tofu dishes from Kyoto, they really know how to do it right!

They are very pretty, add a pop of color and design to a door way to make it stand out.

I wish we had more stuff like that in North America.

Lovely !! Hope you are enjoying your trip! Looking forward to more!

We’re having such a great time. Kid is struggling a bit with the food...but she’s learning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64