The best way to cook a thick steak is to bake it in a toaster oven.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

It might sound like I'm joking, but I'm actually not joking at all.

About a year ago my oven broke for approximately four months. I only had two ways to cook things. The microwave and the toaster oven.

At first I was doing things like heating up sandwiches in the toaster oven, but then I started thinking of ways that I could cook actual food.

I bought a large meatloaf style pan from the Dollar Store and put together a recipe of my own making for a delicious steak.

Could a steak come out nice and juicy in a toaster oven? The answer is yes.

Here is how to make it work. Buy a rectangular pan that is almost exactly the same size as your steak. That is easy enough because they sell a pack of pans that are just exactly the right shape.


Pixabay

Get yourself an onion, several peppers, and a large clove of garlic. Chop up the onions, peppers, and garlic together and line the bottom of the pan with them.

Add a small dollop of real butter to the mixture.

Coat both sides of the steak with pepper.

When I say coat I mean absolutely cover it so that you can barely see any steak through the pepper. That is called encrusting the steak.

Place the pepper encrusted steak on top of the peppers and onion in the pan. Put a medium-sized dollop of butter on the steak and a few dashes of salt to finish the process.

Make sure you set it to convection and 350 degrees.

It's important that you use the middle rack. I usually take the top rack out. Your steak should be checked after 20 minutes because every toaster oven cooks at a different temperature.

I like my steak to be medium with a deep pink throughout. It should have brown juice running through it and be very tender. In my toaster oven that takes about 28 minutes.

Every oven is different though and everyone likes their steak cooked differently. I made a nice London Broil this way today, and believe me when I tell you it was one of the best steaks I've ever had.

You're probably thinking that steaks tastes best on the grill, and you are right in a way....because they have that nice flame-grilled taste.

However, they are more tender on a toaster oven's pan because the steak itself will also baste in it's own juices. The juices on the grill fall through the cracks and into the fire. I do like a grilled steak but they usually come out much drier than when you make it this way in your toaster oven.

Sort:  

sounds great!

I will definitely have to try this! I had no idea! :-)

My mom and dad used an electric toaster oven to cook their steaks too. Mom said not much trouble cleaning it after.

That's also true.

I don't know if I would have thought to try a steak in a toaster oven. I don't know why not though. Glad it turned out well.

I never through to use a toaster oven for a steak but that's pretty smart. Oven cooked steaks can be tasty and really juicy. What I'd love to experiment with is getting a campfire going and try cooking one in a cast iron pan outside sometime. It sounds like it would be fun and might be really good. I just can't work myself up to trying to build a campfire since I've never done that before. lol.

I've made a campfire before but I think it would be hard to cook a steak on.

I think it is an awesome recipe because you work in a restaurant.

Holy crap! Who knew?

I am an ice warrior though and will BBQ no matter how much snow I have to shovel to get to the BBQ!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi! We are @steem-ua. We upvoted you! Why? Because we noticed that you published some pretty cool posts, such as this one!
We like to support you, to help you grow on Steem. Would you like to know more about how things work on Steem(it)? Then feel free to join our steem-ua Discord Server.
Once you have joined our steem-ua Discord Server, please talk to people you see in there that have the UA Scout role. Tell them you have just joined, and like some help on how to make it big on Steemit. And they will help you!
Good luck!
Kind regards, @steem-ua
PS: Discord is a Chat Server Program, you can sign up there for free, and meet and talk to a lot of people on Steemit!

Hello @jeezzle, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65