Night Eats the World.

in #busy6 years ago

I'm always in the mood for a new original horror movie.

Zombies might not sound that original to you, but this particular zombie movie had a new and unique buzz about it.

A French film that was apparently filmed not only in French, but also in English so that the English version is not dubbed but is actually English spoken word.

Directed by Dominique Rocher and starring Anders Danielsen Lie, this movie promises something quite different than the normal edge of your seat zombie thriller.

Is different necessarily good though?

Sometimes.

nighteatstheworld.jpg
Imdb

I love horror movies, and I especially love zombie movies, so I would have watched this movie anyway. However, the reason that I decided to check it out tonight is because of a little blurb that I saw on the internet.

An award from The Tribeca film festival and a small sentence underneath that award from Indiewire that said

The most Innovative zombie movie since Shaun of the Dead.

Well I happen to be a huge fan of Simon Pegg. In fact, I am currently rewatching Spaced for about the 4th time.

I don't think that there is a better comedy out there.

On that note, I do think that Shaun of the Dead is one of the finest zombie movies I've ever seen, so seeing a comparison to Shaun of the Dead made me really want to see Night Eats the World to find out what it was all about.

I'll tell you right now that it's nothing like Shaun of the Dead.


Giphy

Engaging, emotional, scary, simply a masterpiece.

Is it all of those things?

It's hard to say for sure. I will tell you this much.... it's a really slow burn. You know this movie really reminded me of?

Moon starring Sam Rockwell.

That's because the main character in this movie is alone for almost the entire time.

You see, the movie starts at a party with the main character attempting to get some of his things back from a girl that he likes but who broke his heart. In that regard, it is very similar to Shaun of the Dead.

However, after falling asleep in a locked room Anders Danielsen Lie finds himself the only human left in a world of zombies.

Is this movie innovative? Well it's different than a lot of zombie movies that I've seen, but I don't necessarily think that makes it better than most of them.

The first zombie movie I can ever remember seeing was simply called Zombie.

Directed by Lucio Fulci, it was extremely innovative. It was also really scary.


Giphy

Since then I've seen more zombie movies than I can count.

Some of them have been really good, and some of them have been pretty forgettable.

After Zombie we have Night of the Living Dead and all of it's sequels including Day of the Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and Land of the Dead which came out a lot later.

There's also the Walking Dead, which is a great TV show and Fear of The Walking Dead, which is not a particularly good show in my opinion.

28 Days Later had something new to offer in the idea of a monkey virus that was spread by blood. A particularly good scene was one where a man accidentally gets a drop in his eye.

28 Weeks Later is arguably a better movie but then that kind of thing is subjective.


Giphy

Resident Evil was one of my very favorite video games when I first got a PlayStation many years ago.

I've enjoyed the sequels as well and I am a huge fan of the movie series although most of it is pretty hard to swallow. It's fun and action-packed.

There's a Spanish film about a reporter that gets locked in a building with a bunch of people when a zombie outbreak somehow occurs. I'm pretty sure it involves something about mysticism, if I recall correctly. In the United States it was called Quarantine.

There are the Grindhouse movies, Night of the Creeps and Night of the Comet although they arguably aren't about zombies.

There's a great movie called Extinction that has a fantastic soundtrack, that movie is truly unique and exceptional. I highly recommend watching it.

I recently watched a movie on Netflix called Train to Busan.

It was incredibly exciting. A truly thrilling zombie flick.


Giphy

I'm giving you an incredibly long list of zombie movies here and the reason I did that was because each and every single movie I mentioned in this article so far has truly been innovative.

So how do I feel about Night Eats the World?

It's not terrible. In fact, it's a really pretty movie. If you've got a nice big TV you'll enjoy sitting back and taking in the visuals.

This movie is essentially about one man in a house that is surrounded by zombies.

That reminds me of another one. The Omega Man starring one of my very favorite actors Charlton Heston.

The problem is this something awesome happened in each and every movie including The Omega Man but nothing really happened in Night Eats the World.

Zombies take over the planet and one single man is left alone in a gigantic house or hotel.

I guess he is going through some kind of existential crisis, and I think we all would if we were in that situation.

However, it's not that interesting of a crisis. In fact, it's a really slow burn and a really slow movie.

If you're looking for a zombie movie and you haven't seen this one then I say go ahead and watch it. It's definitely not bad. However, I really think it deserves the six that it has on Imdb.

This movie strikes me as a six in every way shape and form, and every other zombie movie I've listed in here strikes me as between a seven and a ten.

Night Eats the World.

A slow burn but ultimately a decent zombie flick.

Sort:  

Oh, I watch zombie movies, but haven't gotten around so much. I donno if this comes in as such a zombie movie, but have you seen "Kane see no evil"?

Oh. Sometimes i am always afraid to watch those zombie and also vampire films or movies rather in the night because to me, it is always scarely and makes me afraid that sometimes i may start to have bad dream about it

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49