How I feel about the new reach ability on Steem Monsters.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

It wasn't that long ago that we were told of a new ability that would be coming to Steem Monsters.

Reach.

With this ability a handful of monsters would be able to do a melee attack from the second spot.

This would essentially be creating a second tank.

roc2.png

I believe there are five characters with this new ability, but there are only three characters that I actually notice and use.

The first one is the Spinback Wolf. I love the Death deck. It's the deck that I put the most into, and I actually really like the reach ability on the Spineback wolf too.

The Grumpy Dwarf has generally been a not very useful neutral card. However, it is slightly more useful now with this reach ability.

However, the fire team has been completely screwed. The Giant Roc, which was a nice cheap tank that was very hard to hit because it had high speed and flying, has been completely neutered.

A level 4 Roc has only two speed. I believe he had five speed before.

He went from being very difficult to hit to being very easy to hit. He is no longer useful as a front tank at all, and can essentially only be used in the second spot and with only minimal results.

I think the reach ability was a good idea, but the fire team has already been given a lot of negatives due to the fact that it's tank with heal is not nearly as good as the other tank with heal.

It has no tank healer at all either.

In order to make the fire team do well, you need to spend a lot of money because a cheap fire team is not going to succeed when you try to do your dailies.

Reducing the speed of the Roc, thereby making him nearly useless as a tank, does not help matters.

Sort:  

I love the new reach ability!
I have done pretty well using the Giant Roc. But I see what you are saying. He used to be really hard to hit. Remember though....
It's an evolution and cards will be nerfed or overpowered. The SM team is figuring it all out too. :)

This is true.

Roc has flying which is an asset being on the fron tline, though the speed reduction sucks. I have taken a back seat on SM since the rewards nerf, though I will likely pick up on it again soon.

I used Grumpy before so he's even better now, and Spineback could now be an alternative as a secondary tank in a high mana death splinter round.

I think the higher up you go, the lower amount of rewards have been taken away. For instance I was Diamond 1 and the rewards were 80 cards, now they're 60. That's not too much of a reduction.

Of course Steem monsters is an investment like anything else. For instance, when I bought my 25 Zintar Mortalis cards they were $0.49 a piece and now they sell for $0.71.

Not only did they go up in value, but I'm also able to reach higher levels and get better rewards.

You might consider dropping 50 bucks in just to try to get higher up the ladder.

I don't mean fifty bucks worth of beta packs though. What you need to do is put fifty bucks worth of crypto that can be bought from some place like Coinbase and then use Peak monsters to pick your favorite cards.

I dropped around $40 on it already but that made one splinter decent, but you need 2/3 to be able to do the DQ's as your splinter invariably doesnt come up.

Whats the difference between STEEM and Peak? Are they competitors?

I've probably dropped a total of $200-$300 in it but I've made about $150-$200 back (though in hindsight I wish I'd kept the cards I sold), and I definitely have splinters I'm better with, but I wouldn't consider any of them weak.

I second the advice to drop a little in here and there... especially leveling specific cards instead of buying beta packs. Though having said that, I don't want to minimize the thrill, and potential value, in grabbing a few beta packs once in a while. It sure is a nice feeling when a surprise legendary pops up. 🙂

Additionally, maybe look into leasing a few really good cards for a week or two. I've been away for a while and don't know much about it yet, but if it's as I believe it seems like it could be worth dropping $20 to lease a decent deck or a few key cards to climb higher on the leaderboard and earn higher rewards or hit some tournaments to earn Steem to upgrade your own deck.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57