Cherry Falls. Virgin horror.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

I love horror movies.

I'm particularly fond of 80s type slasher flicks. You know the kind where a group of half-wits goes to summer camp, and one by one they are picked off by a ridiculous villain that is just way over-the-top?

There's usually gratuitous nudity, tons of exploitation, and all kinds of ridiculous shenanigans going on. Those movies are simply great popcorn flicks.

The other day I was looking through my streaming sites and I came across a movie called Cherry Falls.

In the small town of Cherry Falls, a psychotic murderer is killing off the virgins of the local high school.

Well, sign me up.... I said.

So without further ado.... let's check out my review of Cherry Falls.

cherry2.jpg
Imdb

First of all I should get the IMDB rating out of the way. It is 5.1. I consider that to be quite low.

Of course that is a generalization. It doesn't mean what horror movies are rated well, it means what movies your average every day man might enjoy. You get a lot of movies on IMDb with low ratings because they are simply not pointed towards a general audience, and therefore that eldery woman didn't enjoy the slasher flick because she said things like I can't believe they cursed during that movie.

For example, Sleepaway Camp II which is quite possibly the finest slasher flick ever made, has a 5.7 on IMDb.

Now I should get this out of the way. I will say right up front that Cherry Falls has no nudity, and very little in the way of exploitation. If you're looking for your standard 80s style slasher that has all of the features of those flicks....... you aren't going to find some of those features here.

That doesn't necessarily make or break a slasher flick though.

c1.jpg
Imdb

What Cherry Falls lacks in the exploitation department it definitely makes up for with it's ridiculous and over-the-top plot.

There's a serial killer going around killing virgins. How does that serial killer know who's a virgin or not? Well that isn't entirely clear to me. I guess if they would know which girl is a virgin, but I'm not sure how they would know which guy is a virgin or not.

Having said that, if you're a virgin in Cherry Falls....you better watch out.

Now I have to say right away that the acting is completely wooden. I don't find that a problem with flicks like this. Sometimes wooden acting actually gives a good B movie vibe.

I actually like the acting in this movie, and I think being wooden helps the plot seem more ridiculous which is exactly what I'm looking for in a slasher flick.

The thing that is hilarious though is this. Everybody in this entire damn school is a virgin.

It's all virgins! Everybody!

gbgb.jpg
Imdb

Due to the fact that everyone is a virgin, the entire school decides to have a let's lose our virginity party.

Freaking awesome.

It's every bit as hilarious as it sounds.

One thing I find really strange is the fact that this movie stars Jay Mohr. It seems like a lot of characters that fit into a slasher flick..... and then Jay Mohr.

What are you doing here Jay Mohr?

All in all, I'd say that this is really a great slasher flick. It doesn't have all the same exploitation you might expect from some earlier movies, but it has incredibly wooden acting, and it just fills the B movie role you're looking for 100%.

If you like slasher flicks, you should definitely check out Cherry Falls.

Unless you're a virgin, that is.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76