Why do we overeat?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

It was a particularly busy day at work today.

Since I work at a restaurant and I'm always running around, I tend to get a lot of exercise and burn a lot of calories.


Giphy

Sometimes when I get home from work I am just absolutely famished.

Today when I got home I wasn't in the mood to cook anything that was going to take a long time, so I picked up a large avocado, a large bag of chips, and several tortillas.

I made some very simple avocado tacos with chips on the side.

I was able to create four decent-sized tacos which were essentially just avocado on a toasted tortilla shell.

I continued to eat from the bag of chips despite the fact that I was already full.

In fact there was more than half a bag left and I continued to eat more and more.

It is true that I burned a lot of calories today, however it probably wasn't a smart idea to continue eating chips.

I ate the entire large bag. This is the type of bag that is supposed to last for like a week. It isn't a single meal type bag of chips.

I couldn't help it though. The truth is that I had already filled up but I continued eating it. They were just so tasty.

I'm sure that I'll be fine because I'm going to burn a lot of calories again tomorrow however I can't help but wonder why we overeat.

Do you find yourself overeating?

Sort:  

Food is very comforting so some tend to overeat because it makes them feel full and comforted. Chips are easy to eat a lot of. I think scientists design junk food to be addicting so you overeat without realizing it. I try not to overeat but when I do it's usually because it's something I don't get often that is really delicious.

It’s more emotional than anything else... I think. 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aure, I do overeat sometimes. And most times, it's because whatever I am eating at that point is delicious and my most just want more, so I end up stuffing the stomach with what it definitely doesn't want. And other times, its so as to keep the mind busy, a bit of an escape from the real world...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

We should not overeat. It is not good for health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47