I survived my first Sinulog solemn procession

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180120_151051.jpg

"Afflictions brings out graces that cannot be seen in times of health" said R. M. Mchayne. Indeed in my 8years stay here in Cebu I have attended the fluvial and dance parade but never the procession of the Santo Nino image. But now with my health in the line I brave the massive crowd and theintermittent rain to join this religious aspect of the celebration.

IMG_20180120_151416.jpg

Together with my bosom friend Setti who is to undergo a surgery for her bile problem we joined the large flock of believers for a walk lasting close to seven hours. It's unimaginable as I for one would take a jeep just to get too destination just several feet away but with faith in God's healing power together we walked from
Santo Nino Church -Osmena- Gem nabilin to MJ Cuenco.So it's explainable why after such a physical feat we were so famished. Thank God we were able to replenish out energies with great food and laughter.

IMG_20180120_223812.jpg

So what did I learn from this solemn procession?

1.be flexible to life's impermanence.
I learned as much as we have goals in mind it is wise to adopt to the needs of the time. We had been waiting two hours for the parade to start but in the end we were asked to clear the road for the carroza of the Santo Nino. instead of complaining we were just to happy to have a glimpse of the century old image of child Jesus up close. Instead of complaining about how erratic the weather is we were just to glad we weren't too sunbaked after the event. In between the stops we make friends with neighbor and even took group pictures.

IMG_20180120_221831.jpg

IMG_20180120_150928.jpg

2.in the uncertainty of life, family and friends makes the difference. I couldn't imagine doing this alone as its physically taxing but because Setti and I can take short breaks to chitchat, go to restroom for pee breaks and encourage each other to move ahead we finished it not feeling exhausted at all. Guess same is true for those who brought along their family no matter how inconvenient it seems to others for them to tag them along

IMG_20180120_151313.jpg

IMG_20180120_174842.jpg

The kids were just too adorable in their Santo Nino costume and it was just too moving to see couples, disabled ,sick and old people being assisted bybothers just so they can manifest their faith..

3.to make anything a success teamwork and discipline are important.I am thankful for the help of the crowd controls, the medic, the policemen who make sure that this is an orderly event. Also I am grateful that the followers were disciplined as well to follow this rules to avoid stampede and other unnecessary injuries

IMG_20180120_221703.jpg

4.there is power in number. The huge turnout of devotees made a strong statement in the importance of religion to nation building.The well attended procession had shown the world that though it's true Sinulog is noted for the dance parade and lots of partying it remains a large chunk a religious event.A loud shout-out it is to the world that we aren't afraid of any terrorist to gather.

IMG_20180120_221557.jpg

IMG_20180120_151210.jpg

5.finally it taught me as well to just enjoy every step and not dwell much on the destination. I resolved I will face these health challenge head on and I will choose to be happy about being alive while I and till breathing.

IMG_20180120_232228.jpg

During the walk I am always finding myself fascinated be it the wall art, the various portrayal of the child Jesus, the ornaments of the devotees and the Visayan original pop music. It was a sensory experience.

IMG_20180120_114053.jpg

IMG_20180120_110220.jpg

Yes my calves are aching but considering I had my first solemn parade and my second time to have henna tattoo it was all together a great experience. Something I will always fondly remember when my health fails me

IMG_20180120_233046.jpg

Fellow Steemians if ever you do want to join this please be ready with rain gear and if you want some foldable handcarry chairs and good comfy footwear and of course being alone your hoped and happy disposition as not everyone are able bodied to be in this parade and please because it's a religious affair do observe proper dress decorum .Have those DIY shirts and super shorts shorts worn on Sunday for the dance parade not hear in respect of the devotees.

ViVa Pit Senor! Happy Saturday fellow Steemians

Till next post,
Ayn

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 16:35:43
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 399.55/400.00
Total Photos: 67
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love festival , and your festival is great and all photos are beautiful . It's amazing day for your.
Thanks for sharing

Namaste

Welcome@lalitswami I did enjoy I am. Actually praying for better health as my laboratory blood results is not good .i love festivals also thanks for your kind words

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62