The rich man and the poor man - a short story

in #busy6 years ago

Image source

I have read a similar story somewhere and I can't remember where, but I decided to write my own version and share it with you.  This is a great life lesson and many of us can benefit by reading this.  Enjoy! 

Once upon a time there was a man who lived in a small village with his wife and three kids. Every afternoon he went fishing on his small fishing boat and he caught some beautiful fish for his family to eat. He would wrap the fish in a newspaper to take home to his wife to cook.  On his way home, he would stop by the local pub, have a beer and then go straight home to his wife and children. This was his daily ritual.  

They were a happy family, although not rich, they were content and had what they needed to survive.  One day while the man was fishing, he saw another man watching him. After he wrapped his fish in the newspaper he saw the man that watched him walk closer.  

The man introduced himself.  

"Good day sir, I am John Walker and I own one of the biggest fisheries in the country. I have been watching you all afternoon, and I would like to offer you a job"

The man smiled at him and then shook his head.  

" I am not interested sir, I do not need anything more than what I have now. I am happy and content where I am now."

John Walker could not believe his ears and kept on pushing the man.  

" I will give you your own boat, and you can catch many more fish, I will even buy all the fish from you!"

The man just shook his head and he declined the offer again.  

John Walker became a bit irritated as no one has ever declined an offer like this.  

" You are an idiot.  You can become a rich man, then you don't have to struggle like this!"

The man turned around and told the rich man: 

" But sir, I do not struggle. Everyday I get to spend time with my children.  We play outside while my wife cooks us dinner.  I get to spend time with my friends in the pub, and my life is great."  

John Walker answered: 

" But you can BE something more. You can move away from this silly little town and perhaps even own your own fishery one day, and then when you are older you can come to retire here in this pathetic little town and drink beer with your friends and play with your grandchildren."  

The man stopped walking, turned around and said: " What is your point sir? Why do I have to wait for when I am old and grey?  I already spend time with my own children, AND I get to spend time with my friends.  Why do I have to work towards something that I already have? ...it is YOU sir, that is the idiot.  

Moral of the story:

Be grateful for what you have.  Money isn't everything and sometimes we have all we need right here under our noses.  

Sort:  

Great lesson of life, wrapped into a short story @giantbear

Thanks and congratulations for sharing this publication. Great, follow me and I'll follow you friend

You have said it all, "be contented with what you have". Nice post. I just upvoted you and resteem your post for others to share from the lesson too. You can check my post @godspower22. One love

Very good and insightful lesson. We just need to realize little more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13