Once upon a time - original fiction - story for kids and adults

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Image source

Once upon a time there was a little boy and his father that lived in the middle of the forest. They did not own much but they were really happy. The father was a carpenter and he made the most beautiful furniture you can ever imagine. Once a month they saddled up the horse, hooked up the carriage, and loaded all the completed furniture to take down to the town at the lower end of the forest.  

It took them a few hours to get there, but they always had a wonderful time while they were in town. They knew many people there, and usually stayed overnight, before traveling back to the little house in the forest.  This went on for many years, and as the years went by, the  little boy grew up and changed into a young man. Over the years his  father taught him the tricks of the trade, and soon he was also able to make beautiful furniture.

His father was aging rapidly, and every time they went to town, the young man begged his father to let them stay. The old man was set in his ways and always refused. The young man became stubborn, and one day  when they went to town again he asked his father.  

" Father, please can we stay here?  All my friends are here and I hate living in the forest with you...."    

The old man felt hurt, and told his son that he could stay in town. The young man was very happy and rushed off with his friends. When he came back to look for his father, he couldn't find him anywhere. He felt all alone, but he also knew that it was his choice to be there, and that he had to make the best of it. 

He found a job in a local bookstore and started to save up for a  place to live on his own. He couldn't wait for his father to come to  town, because he missed him terribly. He waited longingly, but his  father did not come to town the following month. Everyday he looked out the window and all he wished for was to see his father's face.

In the second month he could not stand it anymore. He wanted to see his father.  He told the bookstore owner that he needed a few days off so that he can go up the forest to find him. The bookstore owner was not very happy and told him that if he left the store, he did not need to come back.   

Suddenly the young man felt free! He packed up his things and rushed out the door.  He hurried towards the forest and as he came closer to the house he started running.  He couldn't wait to be back home. 

Image source   

Everything still looked exactly the same, and when he opened the door to the little house, he was shocked to see his father. His father was desperately ill. He rushed over to his father and it was only then,  that his father opened his eyes.  

 "My son, I am sorry that I have failed you, I thought I had lost you forever"  

 The young man realized what he had done and felt very ashamed and said: 

"No father you have not failed me..for many years, you have supported me and taught me everything that I know. I am the one who  failed you ..."  

His father replied:  "Son, I am no longer able to take care of you, I am old and sick and I don't have much time left.

 To which the son replied:  "Yes father, but my whole life, you have taken care of me, and now it is my time to care for you...." 

The moral of this story:

Do not take for granted what is right under your noses.  Appreciate what you have in life.  One day it might be too late....  

Sort:  

I would have acted like the kid at some point but will always go back too to look for my father after not seeing him for a while. Family is gold. Good lesson.

Great story, looks real in another sense for me.

Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Being away from my family, this story made me extremely depressed hahah. Thanks! Looking forward to a cheerful story next time :)

Greetings from Cape Town :)

It is amazing... I can remember my two daughters stating... "once we graduate we're moving to the city"
They didn't like the small town they grew up in. They both graduated within the last 8-10 years and guess where they live? The youngest lives one town over from where she grew up and the oldest lives in another town about the same size.. so much for "city life".

My son is still studying and he is already 8 hours away from me....we live on the coast, but I don't know where he is going to end up. In this country of ours...not sure if anyone should stay....

I really love your stories, and I love the meaning behind them. It's been a while since I read your stories, can't wait to read more of them. I have some catching up to do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25