Freewrite Day 622 Wet Carpet

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

freewrite Wet Carpet fitinfun.jpg

I stayed in a hotel room in Arlington VA for 10 days with a wet carpet. It was not really wet – it was soaked! The area in the hallway entrance by the bathroom was so wet it sloshed and water got high enough to get into your shoes. It never improved for the whole time and who knows what was in that gross water.

I called the desk for no help at all and they would not change my room. It was a prepaid deal from some online booking mistake and they told me no other rooms could be had at my $29 rate. They were already mad I was staying there so cheap.

I was lucky I had a printout of my payment and booking. The manager was called and he let it go through telling me I should be paying over $100 a night there.

So too bad lady, you get the wet carpet room.

Ha! I can deal with it.

I was there with my son who was seven at the time and we were on vacation. Every time we came and went or needed to use the bathroom, we had to splash through that mess. He could jump, I just walked on the wet edge as best I could.

The hotel was less than a block from Roslyn Subway Station and so we could tour Washington DC easily. My rate also got us a great free breakfast in a giant banquet room each morning (as stated on the booking paper) so we were set to go out after that. With a transit pass and many free museums and monuments, we only had to get dinner each night as cheap as I could find.

I had just lost my good accounting job in San Diego due to fallout from a bad economy due to 911. I took the trip anyway with no money or knowledge of what was to come. The plane tickets and hotel were already paid and I would lose that if I canceled. I had several chances to visit DC before and all had fallen through. So we were going. We had a lot of fun and swam in a nice pool each evening if we got back to the hotel in time.

Little did I know I was about to get a job with the US Navy. They had lots of money due to fallout from 911. The Navy sent me to DC so many times in the next six years that both my son and I got sick of the place. I always took him out of school and we would tour more places we had not seen yet on days before and after my work. One year I went four times for conferences; most years I went at least twice.

The Navy paid much more than $100 a night each and every time.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

My footer is on hold while I fix it.

Please go to this post to find out why:

Minnow Tips! You CAN Succeed on STEEM

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

😂 😂 Here we go again.. 😂 You're a great reminder for me each day. 💞

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! So glad to be of service!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What a memory, huh? What was the ultimate reason why it was so sloshy in that hotel room and why didn't they fix it? Just because they were jealous of you having such a deal?

I never knew what caused the water in that spot. They probably had no way to fix it and just wanted me to get mad and leave. The free full breakfasts for two probably cost as much as I was paying. They were wonderful buffets each morning and we ate a lot to fill up for the day and smuggled fruit out with us :)

The hotel was torn down a few months later. It was an large, old, and pretty place past it's prime. So I think they just did not want to spend money they did not have to.

My son was sad since he wanted to stay there again in a nicer room, so I looked into it for my first Navy trip when making reservations. But the hotel was gone :)

That sounds like a good reason. Why fix it if you're about to demolish it anyhow. )

@fitinfun I love to find deals like that, I am glad they accepted it for you.

I was so lucky! I had to prepay on a booking site, and I saw nothing close to DC for less than maybe $80. But all were far. This place was only about 20 minutes to the action. Not in the suburbs like the other cheap ones. It was a glitch for sure. I was afraid to prepay even, and that was why I had the whole thing printed out.

@fitinfun printing it out was very smart of you.

You made the best of a bad situation. Breakfast buffet sounds really good.

It was! The big room was like a 1960's ballroom in Vegas or somewhere like that. It had a 3 story ceiling. And they had all kinds of good food.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67