Freewrite Day 494 Mom and Dad

in #busy5 years ago

freewrite Mom and Dad fitinfun.jpg

As an adopted kid, I have probably given the concept of “mom and dad” more thought than most people. I long ago decided that my mom and dad where mine and did not make any attempt of find my “real family” until I was in my 40’s. This was a halfhearted attempt I gave up quickly.

Then later, as a single mom where our family “did not have a dad” I had a lot of angst about this situation. I got a few cards my son made at school for various Father’s Days to “My mom who is also my dad.” Apparently this is how the school dealt with the onslaught of dad-less kids.

I think that we take care of who we get in this life. Those who come under your care deserve the best you can give at the time. The phrase of “blood is thicker the water” does not really mean much to me.

I knew a girl once who was being raised by the parents of her mother’s last boyfriend before she died. This girl had no idea of who her dad would be or even the situation of her own birth. The people who took her in just happened to be there at a time of need. The boyfriend of the mom was not involved at all.

When I met her they were going to court to pick a time, date, and place of birth so that then they could take the necessary steps to adopt her. She told me these people were her mom and dad and that if the court stuff did not go through she was going to continue to think of them as her parents anyway.

I don’t know the end of that story, but I hope they got their legal status. I can’t think of another set of people who deserved more to be called a family.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

= =

Minnow tips!

Here is my latest minnow tips post if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We follow back, because we love you.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

This is the power of STEEM.

= =

bxlphabet fitinfun before and after.jpg

Statistics say that only 5% of people with health resolutions for the New Year will still be on track after Super Bowl Sunday. Is your fitness equipment still out handy, and are you still on a "diet?"

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. I started on December 5th and did not give up. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, steemmonsters and dtube videos.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Sort:  

You are very motivating!

Thank you! I'm a cheerleader. My son always wants to know why I help others more than myself, but I guess this is just my make up. I believe in good karma.

So glad to be connected to you and thank you very much for the follow today @kus-knee :)

I am glad I found this amazing write-up, thanks for sharing @fitinfun

Thank you very much @oluwatobiloba. I'm very glad you like it. Freewrite is my daily place to let it all out and I never know what that will be thanks to the prompts of @mariannewest. I feel so blessed to have found steem and people like you are what makes it so great.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60633.78
ETH 3383.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52