Freewrite Day 423 Camel

in #busy6 years ago

Freewrite camel fitinfun.jpg

If you look on my profile description, you will see I describe myself as a nomad. I am one, and have been all my life. My dad moved us all through my young life, and I have kept going ever since.

A constant in my life has always been reading. When we got to a new place, my dad would find the nearest library and off we would go. He and I went to read, and my mom and brother stayed home and gardened. This went on wherever we were.

At some point, I started reading about Africa. I remember the library I was sitting in, but not exactly where it was. I read about the history of Africa, the animals, the cultures, the archaeology, the exploration, and everything else I could find for a good long time.

The next time we were about to move, my dad asked us at the dinner table where we wanted to move if we did. My brother said he did not want to move, and I said I wanted us to move to Africa. My mom burst into tears. When it turned out we were going back to a place we used to live in Canada again, none of us was happy.

I liked the idea of Bedouins. These people have nowhere. They live where they end up that night and travel by camel on various routes. They are looking for water, and salt, and various foods that come into season at certain times of year. I thought that would be a great way to live and was pretty disappointed in my dad for not agreeing to try.

Going back to somewhere was not my idea of how life should be. But at least I knew the place we were going had a good library. Like always when moving, my mom cried to leave her garden before the crops came in. She hoped that the new people would know what to do with her bounty. My brother said he would help her plant again.

I’ve never gotten to Africa yet, but it is most definitely on my list.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. It’s a great way to start regular posting on steemit. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

okqyugrc33.jpg

Are you worried about gaining weight over the holidays?

Or are you just going to worry about it later?

December 2011 is the month when my weight loss efforts really took off. Please follow my blog for weight loss information, or contact me directly if you would like some individual help.

Sort:  

I have been to Africa I hope to be able to go back one day. Ever smelled and saw the teeth of a Camel? We moved many times too. My dad always said: If you think it will be better somewhere else leave! Seldom been at the library but read non stop. We had plenty of books or I saved my pocketmoney to buy what was possible.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! No I have never been close to a camel enough to smell one. But I did watch two of them have sex at the zoo in Belgium. They were right out on the open and 100+ were watching. Good times! I can't carry books as a traveler now due to weight, but I have my laptop. Now I use adobe "read aloud" and it has changed my life!

My dad always did think it would be better at the next place. I just love everywhere I go mostly :)

Where were you in Africa? Jealous!

you are in an excellent position to get there now - you can make so many friends on this platform and go and visit!

I agree. I need to go there and south america last though. After those places, you need a yellow fever shot to go to the a lot of rest of the world. I do not want the shot if I can avoid it. But I definitely have friends in all those places and more! Lucky me :)

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @bxlphabet
BuildTeam wishes everyone a great Christmas and bullish Holidays
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63