Witness Costs

in #busy5 years ago

The price of STEEM dropped hard after Steemfest.
I am paying for my single server with STEEM.
The monthly costs are eating all the profits.

I had to pay 345.749 STEEM for this month.
I only made ~160 STEEM this month through my witness.

That is not sustainable.

If I were to post every single day, I could probably cover the cost that way.
At the end of the day, the main profit would go to @privex, my server provider.

I have just renewed the contract and paid until christmas.

I am thinking about quitting the witness for good after that.

It started as an experiment, and I never wanted much responsibility, anyways.
I still have not looked into the new witness parameters, that came with the RC system.
I do not do code review and have to ask around, if I run into troubles with my server.
Being on constant alert and ready to react, if anything goes wrong with the server was easy with my previous job, but could prove to be tricky in the future.

Also, I am not good with politics.

Spectators, who go through the troubles of checking my transfer history, will see, how I used my witness income to support some good users and ideas here.
It was a pleasure and I hope it made an impact - I should have put more effort into marketing myself though.

I did not calculate the real numbers, but if I quit at the end of the year, I will still have a net profit left from this enterprise.

I have a hard week of work ahead of me, after which I will try to bang the drum a little more.
If I can get heavy votes, I can sustain the server, if not, I will have to abandon the witness.

Maybe, I got more votes than I ever should have gotten.
I still am amazed, how many people trust me with their votes.
To operate the witness at a profit with the current prices, I would need roughly twice as many votes.
I do not see this happen anytime soon.
I do not see many good reasons to support my witness.
There are others, who are far more productive and competent.

I have learned a lot and so far it was fun - Perhaps it will be the right time to quit.

For now, I have one month of signing blocks ahead of me.
After that, I would not mind going back to just posting and voting.
It would make a lot of things easier for me.

If you feel like it, please comment and tell me what you think about this.

Thanks,

@felixxx

Sort:  

You were one of the first witnesses i ever voted for:( was an honor to have your back:)

Thanks !

It was a pleasure meeting you in person.

Ich kann dich sehr gut verstehen! Auch wenn man als Witness viel lernt, sollte am Ende des Monats keine rote Zahl im Kassenbuch stehen.
Wer nur postet und votet, hat in jedem Fall zumindest ein kleines Plus erwirtschaftet. Ich hoffe sehr, dass du unserer munteren Gesellschaft erhalten bleibst. Irgendwann wird sich der Kryptomarkt auch wieder erheben, und dann sieht die Rechnung wieder besser aus. Momentan müssen wir uns alle gedulden. Aber der wahre Wert von Steemit ist für mich die Vernetzung mit tollen engagierten Menschen!

Einen herzlichen Gruß aus München!

Ich bleibe auf jeden Fall hier.
Ob als witness oder als reiner Kurator.

Vielen Dank für Deine lange Unterstützung.
Bei dir zum Beispiel bin ich mir nicht sicher, ob ich das Vertrauen wirklich verdient habe.

My due date will be February.
I make 1 Steem per day, but costs are 30€/month.
If I would buy steem for that prize, I would make more these days.

My due date will be February.

So excited for you !
boy or girl ? :)


you could see it as a bet.
If the price of STEEM rises significantly, you will already have built a reputation as a witness and that could pay off even better ....

People trust apps and faceless witnesses way more

Still got my vote, let's see where prices are by then. But I'm guessing it's gonna take a bit longer for a proper upswing in price...

Much appreciated.

I am not seeing any reason for better prices in the near future - but then again - markets are crazy.

i understand you @felixxx, because I just was thinking to start an server witness for Steemit. But than I calculated the costs and I was over thinking it, because right now even with the main account there is not enough money coming in, to cover the cost. And we are still on traveling, that money is rare. So I have to wait for own witness server till the probe of Steem isa bit higher, but than I surely will do it. So I can understand you, by stopping it next month....

Whether you continue or not, you have my support. The connection was made at that breakfast table and I don't forget friendly people.

You are not doing badly in the witness tables, so you have more fans that you give yourself credit for.

Say thank you to @slobberchops, his reccomendation got you another vote :-)
Best wishes

Hab' das zu spät gelesen, um deinen Artikel noch gewinnbringend voten zu können, deshalb 'kümmere' ich mich stattdessen und diesen Kommentar. :-)

Wie auch immer deine Entscheidung bezüglich Witness-Betrieb ausfallen wird, sie ist verständlich. Danke für deine gute Arbeit für den STEEM und die deutschsprachige Community!

That's quite a bad business indeed lol. But really mate, we like you regardless if you are a witness or just a filthy causal steemian like the rest of us.

What happens exactly if you drop your witness? You cannot ever return again?

Posted using Partiko Android

Technically, I can deactivate the witness and activate it again, as I please.
Morally, I am not one to leave in a crisis and return once it's over.

Also, I am not good with politics.

Given your future plans, I think you should work on that 😄

Well, if I hadn’t already, I would vote for you, because you have indeed always been very supportive!

I’m sure the market will turn around before the end of the year, so whether you achieve the necessary number of votes or not, I’m positive you can keep your witness!

Posted using Partiko iOS

*Anglo-Saxon / American style politics, that is :)

When it comes to logical discussions, I can stand my ground.

Bad days for the low rank witnesses. Switching to hetzner may help. It was 2.5x cheaper than privex the last time I checked.

But one has to give Adress and such. Not with privex

Sorry to hear this, but you do what you gotta do. Keep your chin up, I think you already know what is the right choice for you and if you admitted it, you already have the answer for yourself. No need to consult us - just do what will bring you the most happiness for the year to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05