Update on my 4 quail

in #busy6 years ago

There are 4 now, one hatched late.
They have also grown considerably since their first day, and they are not as cute anymore, I guess.
I could probably had 2 more hatching ... I think I killed them when I took the last bird out.

Note: Do not open the incubator during lockdown unless you absolutely have to.

I think I will make a small post when I customize my china-made incubator to make it more comfortable for the freshly hatched birds. They were crying constantly until I took them out. The thing is unnecessarily loud.
Apart from that, it worked fine.

They are 10 days old now and already have half their new set of feathers.

They are very shy and get spooked easily.
Even if they are happy, they rarely sit still, unless under the heating plate, where they sleep.
This is the best picture I could get, then I gave up.

At 7 days old, I took a small video of them.
I will try to convert and upload it to d.tube sometime soon.

In around 2 weeks, or when they do not need the heating anymore, they will move into an outside pen. I will post an update then and write down my thoughts on quail and if the effort is worth it.

Hope to see you then !

Sort:  

they are already growing and that is why they are not so nice, but even when they finish growing they are beautiful

OMG, you have quails. I've not seen one of those for a long time.
I'm sure you have time to better pictures :-)

I have time, but the little ones don't.
They do not like the camera.

Maybe you can try get them use to it. I think like cats are afraid of humans but if you train them early enough, then they are conditioned.

I tried.
In the very beginning two were not scared of me, at all.
Then after one night, when they panicked like crazy, they became very timid.

They are going to live outdoors and will hardly see me.
It is probably for the best if they are used to being independent.

That's pretty cool! And they still look cute haha!

Felicidades @felixxx por el gran trabajo que hiciste al cuidar y proteger a esos pequeños polluelos, hay que ser pacientes y tener calma con ellos. Saludos

aha!
Happy Quails' Dada's Day .. belated :)
so you did get them :)
congrats!
they must be bringing you much joy on a daily basis!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99