Sint Nicolas came to the Netherlands, he didn't bring the present I wanted but a wise lesson instead.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

b91318f1-dd37-4973-8f05-e521c9bb29dd.jpg


On the 5th of December we have a Dutch tradition were Sint Nicolas comes to the Netherlands to gives presents to kids.

Because the 5th falls in a weekday (school) my family and I celebrated it today with my nieces and nephew.

I remember very well as a kid the anticipation of the presents arriving. (A neighbour would knock on the door leaving a big bag of presents).

Of course Sam couldn't have cared less (to young) but my brothers daughters were visible nervous for the whole event.

It was fun to see their faces, a little nervous, yet happy, hoping to get the present they wanted!

Believing in something even though it's not real can be very fun, sort of like SMT's, lol! (Maybe too early but man, I want my humour back, because fuck it, all this shit is making me age too fast).

It reminds me of something positive, though.

I remember very well when I was young and learned that Sint Nicolas wasn't real.

I must have been 7 or 8 years old. I was more than slightly upset when I learned.

When I told my friend Ben (still a believer) he was also upset! His world also must have collapsed for a second or two.

But in the end we turned out to become two cool guys and friends for live and instead of waiting for Sint Nicolas to come round once a year and gives us the things we want, we now make or buy our own!

I guess that's how it should be. And, to be honest, I prefer it.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

@exyle,
Yeah the day when I learned Sint Nicolas is not real, I was at pretty bad mode as well!

Cheers~

Sometimes you just have to believe in something! BTW, isn’t your Santa the one that beats bad kids with sticks or something? I think coal in the stocking is better than that, lol!

You got a 32.07% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @industriousliv! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

So what is the present?
A bunch of Bitcoin cards to buy more Steem?

Well whatever you said is absolutely right. We can buy everything we want, but these moments of waiting for Saint Nicolas are just amazing. Even if we know he isnt real, we still wait for a good surprise from the family :)

Wow! 7/8? My daughter is getting there and I am not ready for it... We still have the elf on the shelf game and she gets so excited at the “magic” of it all which is so great to experience!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember my mother giving me "the talk" that Santa wasn't real, but I already knew by that point. I don't remember finding out, or if I ever believed it in the first place. Possibly my older sister told me and I just don't recall it. Anyway, I responded to Mom, "I know," and MOM was upset.
"What do you mean, you know?? Who told you?!"
Like, did you WANT me to be upset, Mom? LOL

At least you are still smiling lol.

This is the 8th picture, and then he finally smiled. :)

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I taught high school for years and one time a boy in grade 8 told me this: he was about 7 years old and began to wonder if Santa Claus was real, so he decided to camp out behind his couch and wait for Santa to deliver presents under the tree. He obviously dozed off and woke up when he heard some noise. so he decided to very carefully peek around the corner hoping beyond all hopes that Santa would be putting some presents there, but instead he saw his father, butt naked, ass in the air, bending over dropping presence on the ground!

Now there's a lesson 😊 Stay in bed kids!!

Does Krampus ever visit there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97