You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Huge Powering Down Proves SteemIt Lacks Transparency. Can We Still Trust SteemIt?

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I been asking myself the same type of questions from the very beginning. Though I’ve only been here for two weeks and have not completely fully digested how this platform works or what it is that makes it tick I’ve used plenty of other platforms and it seems to be that the way its algorithm works is not so different from other social network and relational sites. The way i see it Steemit except for a few features like the power voting has done nothing extraordinary. The way the algorithm puts people incontact to one another based on points of common interest using wording from the comments and profile description and just any other data from the users profile is nothing new. What i am trying to say is that what they are selling is not so innovative as they would like one to think, just like apple trying to sell a new phone every year when it is the exact same one with a different screen saver. But one thing is for sure, there is a selected few making a killing and still they are not satisfied . It is very unnerving to read a post from someone who can hardly write make more than others who actually have talent and intelligence. It might be the law of market demand, meaning; the market demands garbage and cosumnes garbage and if you give it anything other then it will just through it on your face and then ask for more GARBAGE. That in essence I think is the root problem, and it'll be hard to fix, cause you can fix the pleb.

Sort:  

What you say is true.
I'm here for 4 months, and I'm still trying to figure out how some posts that are just plain crap make 10x more than post written by people that have very innovative ideas, and write brilliant articles. It really bothers me, so i'm working on some kind of a campaign to get people to stop upvoting crap. (The problem is that crap often gets a lot of upvotes, so it is profitable to upvote in terms of curation rewards)

What i am trying to say is that what they are selling is not so innovative as they would like one to think

The big innovation is the monetary rewards for posting and curating.

The rest is fairly standard, but that's a big draw when compared to other "social media" platforms.

(That said, I hate when people compare it to social media... it's a blogging platform plain and simple. It's much closer to Medium than it is to Facebook, but for some reason everyone likes to say this will kill Facebook...)

True. The monetization sets it apart from the rest. Lets hope it won’t kill Facebook. There is enough low-quality content already. I’m not very familiar with Medium, so I can’t Really compare. I think people consider it to be ‘social media’ because commenting and Connecticut with other people is such an important part of the entire ‘SteemIt experience’.
Maybe we should call it a social blogging platform :-)

Seeing crap post earn huge upvotes is disheartening; ugh! There are whales that are trying to up the quality of post by hosting contest. I hope the community will start appreciating post that deserve attention.

@telos, is right.

The big innovation is the monetary rewards for posting and curating.
I've made more money in 2 weeks on Steemit, than I have on Youtube in 12 years. With @steemit powering down, I do feel sketchy. Could be that they are raising capital for a project, but why wouldn't they inform us. I'll still debating whether or not to buy steem at the moment.

There's a big chance it's got something to do with the Social Media Token. I'm pretty sure they're not abandoning the ship. I bought some more Steem myself yesterday, after reading the SMT whitepaper (https://smt.steem.io/).
It just bothers me that there is no communication at all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29