I Didn't See It Coming - Rome Was Actually Built In One Day

in #busy6 years ago

I hear people quote the popular saying " Rome was not built in one day" often times. I have used those lines myself most times but after learning in a hard way last week, I have rephrased the statement to be "Rome was built in one day". Not the magnificent Rome in that saying but my life in blogging. Yes, as time consuming as the idea behind construction of Ancient Rome took, so have I realised that blogging can be.

HOW DO YOU DO IT

My initial orientation coming on board Steemit was that you just like (upvote) people's posts and Viola, you are good to go. I have seen it looks deeper than I thought. Coming from a background of dealing with more of formulae than writing epistles or blogging, I have seen blogging as difficult. Adding to the difficulty was my last week's experience.
thealliance_pagebreak-1.png

For what would have been a nice post according to my opinion, I made the error of not saving my work and relied on busy.org to do the saving for me. Unknown to me, busy.org had other plans for me. After concluding the post, and reviewing it for any typos, I headed than the page to tap the submit button, before I could blink an eye the page refreshed. I wasn't bothered initially since busy claims to save words while we type. I just went back to draft and what I saw crippled me. My over 15mins read post has gone into thin air. I was left with a few sentences in the first paragraph as draft. I wanted to shout but no sound came out of my opened mouth. I guess the shock of losing over 4hours pouring my heart into the post left me dumbfounded. I have thought of starting the post again severally after then but I stop before I can proceed. The energy seems to be gone. I was left with the image below as draft.

IMG_20180428_040231_971.JPG
Screenshot showing the few words left.
thealliance_pagebreak-1.png

IMG_20180428_041219_647.JPG
Screenshot showing 8days ago under drafts.

HOW TO BUILD ROME IN A DAY

As much as I experienced a breakdown due to that sad moment, I blame no one than myself because that was the first time I tried being too careless with my posts. Over 1700 words post according to busy.org. The Rome I built from that experience includes, second chance to busy.org as seen from a post I made a few days ago, learning to pick myself up when I'm down and moving on come what may.
thealliance_pagebreak-1.png
I have lots of hobbies and one of them is not giving up easily. Thus, I want to encourage any who may have encountered difficulty actualizing any idea to go back to it and work on it to completion. I know making the post again will no longer be like the original but I'm willing to take it up. I also want to thank @nomadicsoul and @saffisara for encouraging me to pick myself up. I have set this weekend as a target to rewrite the post no matter what.
thealliance_pagebreak-1.png

I doff my hat to all who post consistently, blogging is fun yet not fun. I will like to know, have you experienced similar thing in your stay here on steemit or any other field of endeavor?


My signout message for today is:

Always accept failure and difficulties as part of a learning process and not the end of the process.

thealliance_pagebreak.png

STAY TUNED TO, @emjoe

Sort:  

Your sign out message has always kept me going in life. Whenever I fail, I always pick the remaining part of myself and continue my struggle, it's really a learning process. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for coming around and being a wonderful sister. 💋

I feel you!! I once lost 4 posts I had prepared and saved on busy. And this morning, I thought I had posted my daily prompt and went on my merry day - only to get messages if I am still alive - where is the post???
Busy seems to have trouble right now and it is best to be careful...

Gosh. Sorry about that. I was really heartbroken because of that but thanks to our sassafrass, she encouraged me a lot.

I do lots of scrennshotting if I want to post directly now.

There are also other application you can compose your post in and then paste and copy...

That's true

The failures are learning of life, thanks for sharing your reflection, very deep.

Thank you @arac. It was learning in form of a military drilling process. Have you had similar experience before?

Once I finished a whole post...hours of work...and when i clicked submit it disappeared, so frustrating!!

It was really heartbreaking for me. I have eventually retyped the post, but it was far feom what the original one looked like. Thanks for coming around @snowpea.

Lets keep steeming

😭that’s happened to me plenty of times too!! I try to remember to copy my post onto word now before I submit or just write on word or another app and copy in when I want to use it. Totally sucks!

I will likely try writing on word first. I just enjoy that real time preview while typing, and flows better with it. I have learned the hard way. Thanks for coming around.

Nice to write on a word processor first, apart from being able to save your work, you also save some bandwidth too. Though thats not a problem for you. But for minnows, its a big issue. The preview takes some bandwidth away. But its ok to use a word processor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43