The world and privacy

in #busy6 years ago

Its been a while since I thought hard and long about privacy, especially in the current system that we find ourselves today.

It is no secret that facebook, google, and many other free or supposedly free applications or services are actually data collection centres which then sell or provide advertisers with our information so that they can give us the advertisements that we see on our pages on a daily.

I recently thought about this topic because my conversations on facebook and google recently shifted towards topics concerning drones and cameras, and within a day I noticed that the adverts that I was served in facebook, google, and even instagram was related to drones, cameras, and many more inbetween that.

Now I do not really care too much about what advertisers send to me, but I do care about my data a lot.
Especially in this day and age whereby data is turning into the new gold of the former era, the new oil of the industrial era and in the future could be the difference between life and death basically.

I do not blame individuals who have decided to keep a lot of their activities but here on steemit and in other social media a secret.

Let us see how things will go in the coming years.

Sort:  

I noticed this some time ago too. I search something on Jumia and the next thing, I'm getting served ads on Facebook relating to my search. That's the reason why I'm no more active on Facebook. Most of what's obtainable there doesn't really tickle my fancy by the way.

Our private lives are becoming more and more public. This needs to be checked, asap.

My time been spend have been shifted from Facebook to steemit a long time ago and I always try to tell people about this to invite them to the community

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50