2 months later, a winner for the short horror story contest, another contest + what is Blocktivity.info? And Happy birthday Coinmarketcap😍

in #busy6 years ago

So reading that title could give you a migraine, but trust me, this post isnt really gonna be long.

Hello steemians!

labor-day-3353970_1280.jpg

Its a wonderful time, a new month, the second month of the second quarter of the year.

Some people call it workers day, some people call it labour day, i call it same old day, cause obvious im self employed so i dont have to take a break.

Its funny how time flies, it feels as though I had a time skip. One minute im making purchases of equipment in port Harcourt, on new years eve and today im in delta state, preparing for the @steemcamp warri event coming up this friday.

Wonderful times indeed.

Whats even more surprising to me is the fact that today also happens to be the 5th anniversary of coinmarketcap.com.

coinmarketcap 5th anniversary

DQmWcEPsVvUjPduF8SGjhB7KdhVAmmLTGL7pKR6yYqUUS2r.png

So if you quickly head over to coinmarketcap.com youll notice a few changes to the site. Well according to a medium article, its an anniversary permanent makeover the crew gave to the site in celebration of the 5 years running and helping people quickly check the prices of cryptocurrency.

If you as a steemian havent heard of coinmarketcap.com, it is one of the best tools needed if you plan on trading crypto.

It shows the prices of different cryptocurrencies, as well as a history chart of their prices(in btc, eth, usd), market cap, and a bunch of other stuffs, from the day the coin was added, till date

Its a very useful website, and in combination with coinmarketcal, Blocktivity.info and Coincheckup.com they form the basis of what ill like to term, my crypto coin infocircle where i get total and complete information about any coin or token im researching.

The site has a new logo, a link button to their various social media platforms and an instant trade button.

Screenshot_20180502-000511.png
screenshot from medium CMC page
A great history in my opinion, being able to build from scratch, only to become one of the most popular crypto portal in existence.

You can read more of the post on medium through the link below;
happy birthday Coinmarketcap

Blocktivity.info

Screenshot_20180502-001538.png

Talking about cryptos, if you havent heard or youre a newbie who doesn't know, there is more to steemit than just posting and earning, the blockchain upon which steem is built happens to be one of the fastest blockchain currently in existence. Its transaction speed is about 3sec long,

though I did hear some info that its even lower, and that the 3sec mark is just for safety reasons

If you head over to Blocktivity.info youll notice that the steem Blockchain is barely stressing itself, even with the high amount of transactions that go through it as a result of us using it.

The ramifications of this is amazing.

Businesses which could open on the steem Blockchain would not have a hard time processing transactions.

When compared to bitcoin, we see that steem is already doing x5 of the amount of transaction bitcoin is doing, at a much lower cost to the blockchain network.

If you look at the Ethereum tab, youll notice that Ethereum is already maxed out, and that inherently cause transactions to be delayed, hogher transaction fees, and more headache generally for those who want to do transactions.

It is in this regard, i consider DPOS chains to be better than POW chains.
*(use google if you dont know what those mean) *

Steem is already slated to become a new foundation, upon which other blockchains, systems and communities can be built on.

A market cap of 10 billion is going tk put the price of steem at about $39-$41, which is the road we all are heading to on steemit.

This of cause brings me to my last post.
I cant leave the steem system now. Its still in its infancy, and leaving now would be like leaving an all night party at 7pm.

We still got too much juice *(too much sauce😁) *

winners of the contest

Quickly i just wanna once again apologize to all.

The winners of the short contest are
@bob-elr and @jackdogho

Congrats!


I am also bringing the contest back and this time, i wont forget :D

However some slight changes..

Here is another horror story writing contest, this time 10SBD for only one individual
So heres how its gonna go
In no more than 100 words, write, in the comment below, a sort horror story that blows the mind.

Something like in the below picture.
U5dqnf9XgfXPywkDkxNZEWw7h9kfbEz_1680x8400.jpeg

rules!

  • must be in the comments of this post
  • must upvote this post
  • must be totally awesome as an individual
  • must resteem this post
  • Winner will be announced next week wednesday
  • Good luck and get scary!

im open to donations for this, i use my personal sbd, and will sustain this as long as I can, but the contest can stop or be moved at any time. Of cause, a notice will be given
1
2

3

Sort:  

LV37 2127 AD

Everything had gone fine until we discovered the caves. That's when the men changed, standards were discarded and men didn't mind who they slept with.

I was in the lab with George when his face turned pale. Before I could say "what's wrong?", his chest burst open and his blood covered my face.

My screams mingled with the screams of the other women and echoed through the station.

All the males on LV37 were dead. A week later the women gave birth to alien monstrosities, and the Landers were diverted to Earth.

Humanity was in danger.

Quite interesting , i love the sci fi aspect.

But it seems eeriely similar to aliens and a bunch of other space horror films...

Does it?
Truthfully I'm not well versed in writing horror. This happens to be the first horror story I've ever written.

Sci-fi is my realm so when I saw the promt I didn't want to write the cliche ghost stories, or stories involving vampires and people experiencing horrible events only to wake and find that it's a dream.

It was a fine experience anyway.
I learnt a thing or two from dabbling with this genre

My Entry

Well i slept late one night and next thing a dream i was walking home from my estate gate at night and i kept having this feeling something was behind me but each i turned to look nothing was there; got scared and started running (I was sure something was following me) till i got home but the house was empty, i quickly ran to my wardrobe to hide but this figure was there. It tried to reach for me and i woke up sweating, seconds later a hanger in the wardrobe fell and i passed out of fear.

@destinysaid thanks alot. I didn't expected it
thanks once again

Steem is using less than 1% of its capacity to execute protocols. If i'm wrong please correct me. Looking at the performance, to me, steem is topping on the coinmarketcap irrespective of whether BTC is holding such whale MC. Even EOS, i still can't compare to what Steemit does or can do, though i don't really know what the future holds

Again, @destinysaid i will say a big thank you for the prize. It's kind of you bro.
I't still incredible to me that i deserve it. And i respect your judgement.

I thought you said the post won't be long🙄🙄

😁Less than 1000 words

What could be more scary and horror
After spending hours trying to get a beautiful work done just today,
I mean few hours ago, he spent his time gathering information from
Different source, if someone told him that this will happen few hours before now, he would have doubted fully well because he so much put in his time to this work.
Just for him to make the post, in less than two seconds he saw one upvote and one comment....Jesus he screemed out loud knowing it was the cheater who upvote him. But after checking it's wasn't the cheater.

STEEM definitely has great potential. EOS might be rising fast now, but as the saying goes.

Slow and steady wins the race

Congrats to you and @jackdogho for winning the contest. By the way, how'd it feel waiting for two months to know you fared.

i was shocked to see that my account increased with 10 sbd . I was reluctant to participate at first but i just decided to do. Thanks to @destinysaid for the contest

I also wanted to participate, but at the time I hadn't even written my first story. Horror isn't my field and I didn't have the skills at the time.

Well, now I've got like 10 stories under my belt, I believe I can make something happen this time.

Dang! Dang!! Dang!!!
It sounded on my head so loud. I knew it was time. I knew they have come for me. They have come to take me away. The consequences for my long waited sin has finally fallen on me. I could hear his voice from afar.
When Poseterous and the Dark Knight brotherhood stepped into the room, the darkness became thicker. The billows of the breeze threw the curtain up and down. It started to rain so heavily in my room.

I tried running out but the door shot itself. I cried, i shouted hoping someone could help still to no avail. I knelt before Poseterous... Please forgive me! He laughed Hahahahaha!!! Your time is up he said. do you think you can run away from us?

Immediately they held me and Poseterous streched out his staff to my head and said your soul is mine i could feel the the terror of hell. The shouts of the deceased, the boys i killed, the girls i raped, the children i all slaughtered because of the brotherhood...

Thanks for reading

Suddenly I was all alone. The theater started growing smaller and the lights started flashing. I started to hear wicked laughter around me. And then from the side of the wall,blood started rushing out. When I looked up,I could see the decayed bodies of kids my age. Just as I turned around, I saw a creature with glowing blue eyes and blood dripping down his mouth.I ran towards the door and was stopped by a beast with a large fork in his hands. Just as he made to thrust it into my stomach,I woke up...

MY ENTRY
In 1996 in Kwale Delta state, I stayed with my cousin brother. He asked me to accompany him to a vigil but gave an excuse that I want tired. Dunno what the time is but wanted to ease myself outside. On opening the door, I saw a ghost standing outside in front of a room whom I don't stay who stays there. The ghost started walking towards me, I screamed "Jesus" and ran back inside. I cover my head with a pillow and held my bladder till the next morning.
I bet you after that incident, I go to all vigil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31