You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vintage of the Day - Estate Sale Friday

in #busy6 years ago

I am so glad nobody does that here, I would be at a sale every day lol, I am bad enough as it is for hoarding stuff, looks like great fun also. What is the reasoning behind someone selling off that much stuff via a middle man company?.

Sort:  

@deliberator It is pretty fun. Lots to choose from. Yes, it's really fun, and there are SO many, you are bound to find something.

There are some un-fun things like other aggressive people who act inappropriately to the homeowners or the company running it. The company knows how to handle them. Stealing and lying to get what you want are both frequent.

To be blunt, parents die, and let's say, they were 90. Their kids are 65. The accumulation has built up for years. In that situation, their kids also have to maintain the house until they sell it, that means possible mortagage payments and definite taxes and upkeep. They can't sell it full of stuff. Especially if it's not current. That means, fixing things, replacing carpet, painting etc.

Parents of Baby Boomers for example(the biggest generation born in American history). my Mom was born in 1950, she's a Baby Boomer. If my Grandparents were alive they would be in their 90's, parents of Boomers. THEN THEIR parents were part of the Great Depression that began in 1929. No one had a dime.

So my Great GREAT Grandmother would have been part of the Great Depression. They tend to hoard because money was so tight they kept it. They taught their children to do the same. You never knew when the bottom would drop out of the American economy again. The first generation practically unaffected by the Great Depression is my age.

I'm 48. Anyone under 40 has only heard about it in school.

The average person has no idea how to empty a house quickly. Price it all, advertise it and run it. A company can make it happen faster. They take like 40% of the total sales, you get a check and don't have to do anything. Makes it easier to deal with the paperwork and getting it listed for sale.

So 2 major generations were accumulators and had good jobs and money. Baby Boomers and their parents. They also had houses FULL of stuff.

People are more minimalistic today. Over the next 10 year? There's going to be SO MUCH stuff coming on the market. I hope people will get more into resale because this will take up a lot of room in landfills.

@Debilerator how do you do it there?

You could have made a post in that reply, excellent and informative, I have zero Idea how they do it here, I am from England, and living in Poland now for 4 years, before that I was in Spain for 6 months, and before that Asia for 6 years. The polish seem to sell the houses full of the stuff, as I have seen so far.

@deliberator Thanks, maybe I will and expand on it! Waiting for more people to find me :) It's fun to talk about! It's an interesting and sometimes bizarre subculture even people in the US don't fully understand :)

I love to hear how things "work" in other countries. I've heard in Europe houses get passed down with contents frequently. Things are used much longer creating a LOT less waste. Keep an eye out and if you ever see a flea market or anything there, take some pics for me!

You would love this place, the market square in what they call old town, is pedestrian only, loads of side roads, and a long main st, it is full the last Sunday of every month of traders, and ordinary folk, who sell antiques, art, ww2 items, grandfather clocks and anything you can think of, I will put a post up for you tomorrow, I have photographed it many times, as I love it.

DSC_0163_edited.jpg

I have no doubt!! That looks amazing. I’ve always wanted to go to a good market in Europe not ones that all tourists go to but a good local market -

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54