How scammers are destroying Steemit and what we all can do about it.

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

Steemit is undoubtedly the best revenue sharing social media platform. On the other hand, however, this reward sharing mechanism has given room to greed, spam and scammers who want to take advantage of the reward system for their own benefits. So if we all do not unite as one against scammers, then we will have ourselves to blame. Here are some few points:

Pic source

Flooding the system with daily 5 to 10+ short posts: If you go to popular tags ( relating to cryptocurrencies, steem , steemit et al) you will notice that some writers in the trending pages post more than 5+ times daily (with short lines) earning an average of 150+ SBD meaning that others who spend quality time to post once or max 2xms daily might not have the opportunity to make it due to vote sharing mechanisms used by the same people . This issue has been written by some steemians, one example is @berniesanders even though his posts are far from perfect , at least he do talk about the issues sometimes.

** Stealing from all: **please go to the account of @checkthisout and then go to the comment sections of his posts and see how his comments were upvoted here : https://steemit.com/sbdtothemoon/@checkthisout/sbd-ta-projection-for-jan-2018 and https://steemit.com/sbd/@checkthisout/sbd-correction . This issue is currently not known to many whales (please resteem and upvote this post for others to see) and most worringly , only few has acted- example @lukestokes (one of my favorite steemian and witness) who in his post : Whales: You Have Some Flagging to Do exposed this extreme case of theft. Worringly, If it goes unresolved, we will certainly see decline in revenue sharing here because few decided to take all for themselves without thinking about others who are playing by the rules. I refer you also to the latest post by @lexiconical : Why Do We Bother To Create Content At All? where he exposed such scams.

On the other hand, however, I do know that some steemians, examples, @stellabelle , @ats-david , @transisto , @spaminator , @steemcleaners , @sherlockholmes , @personz , @pfunk, @patrice , @clayboyn , @fyrstikken , @ausbitbank , @jerrybanfield (and others not mentioned here) are working behind the scenes to stopping or at least reducing scams and spams here. Moreover, they need to know about the afore-mentioned scams and we all should help them in fighting against these types of thefts. Even though some might think that it is not their business, however remember that we all are steemains and have to defend our platform!!!.

What do you guys think? Send in your comments, please upvote and resteem this post in order for others to see it and join the discussion.

Please see my former post: Is Steemit the solution to Facebook Monopoly? (2)

Important info:

Elyte End of Year Bounty program (runs till 1st January 2018)- also see crowdsale / whitelist section of https://www.elyte.biz/ for a Christmas present!!!
Please go to the link below and follow the instructions for a chance to win some ELYTE
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfMrrhwDcOgnIDkdcRgfs3rpmzyq8_pN7ukJjotkPcYIKJwcQ/viewform?usp=sf_link
Ethereum lyte (Elyte) is the next best thing. Offering just 1m tokens as total supply with lower circulation supply, top visible team, excellent and innovative product, deflationary nature, early adopters of Elyte are already smiling as they see bright future in their investments as prices has shot up over 600% since inception just 3 weeks ago even as they are yet to be on exchange. Get more info via website or join the active telegram community
Elyte website: https://www.elyte.biz/
Telegram : https://t.co/kAhkvVTPBF
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EthereumLyte
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EthereumLyte
Bitcoin Talk page : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2618851.new#new
Join the Telegram group for now!

Sort:  

Whatever, Mr. Disinformation at it again.

@hilarski , I noticed that you only comment to make a false point and upvotes your comments...makes me wonder your intentions? very disappointed. Be real and face reality!!!

So if this is disinformation, could you explain this to me? I am a newbie here, not really sure what to make of all this. This does look like total scam, though...
https://steemit.com/sbd/@checkthisout/sbd-correction
I guess some folks just have a "make money at any cost" mentality, too. I quit upvoting my comments when I got my slider bar, sort of feels like it is time to let my comments earn on their merits, but that is just me.

I also never vote my own comments.
As the scam shows, it is easy to make a second account, post with it and then upvote those comments. So if we blocked self voting or self voting comments, the problem could still exist.
I like @charles1 's idea of limiting the number of posts per day but that wouldnt work for comments. We want comments and engagement. Maybe you create max upvote values on comments and maybe limit the number of comments you can vote on in a thread. This could also create issues because I like to upvote good comments in my own threads. So I wouldnt want a max. Maybe you can only vote for another user account once in a thread.
I think everyone should follow @lukestokes as he does a great job of flagging this type of behavior and bringing light to the issue.
Throw him a witness vote as well, he does great things for the platform!

Good point, @lukestokes already got my vote. Comments are great however such abuse by some people is bad

Good point, ask him. And he normally dont respond...just make a useless comment and then upvotes it.

Good point, @lukestokes already got my vote. Comments are great however such abuse by some people is bad

I don't understand, why is this disinfo? Have you read his post and checked out the @checkthisout account blogs and comments?

@benjojo , thanks for your comment. unfortunately, @hilarski comment sometimes without reading the post and upvotes his comments eventhough it is mostly out of point...

Pleasure. How infuriating!

same here bud..wish you a blessed holiday season...more success

Proving the article’s point eh?

what do you like about the post?

My favorite part is that the very behaviors you mention in the post as being toxic are running rampant in the comments! It’s like they didn’t even ready it...

Lol you are right.... some people are really weird

mind elaborating a bit ?

anyways goes to show nobody rewards communication, no upvotes on comments, no reason to reply ... no conversation :D anyways, I respect you @hilarski hence you get a free pass, I have other reasons for not liking this post but I wouldn't call it disinformation, I don't like the steem shillery :D truth is there is corruption and when you tie money to anything there will be some of that... people are people :| good or bad ...

I dont follow and upvote bots...

why should I do that bot?

It is not a bot. Just another comment spammer from hundreds :-)

what? I thought that it is a bot...how can a normal person flood a post with such comments? Lol

It may be a bot.
But from my experience, I have noticed that most of these accounts aren't.
These users are mostly from India, Pakistan or Aceh.

Regarding your post. Another thing about milking the reward pool.
Another exploit is reposting your own post again but in different language using "bilingual" excuse in order to fish for extra curations/random rewards.
Mostly common in Spanish speaking community here. It's not covered by steemcleaners as Spanish commmunity seems to allow such trash.

wow, good point...foreign language speakers can make more money with the system ..Lol

Hahaha I thought the same

i don't have an issue with the number of posts people make if they're of some level of substance. if you have a following and you engage with people and they engage with you, then you're bringing something to the platform, regardless of how large the payout may be.

i DO, however, have a huge fucking problem with people like @checkthisout (who must also be @grumpycat, who upvoted every single one of those comments on @checkthisout's post). THAT right there is objectively and subjectively a bullshit way of earning rewards from the site, i don't care who you are.

i keep seeing that kind of crap all over the site, which is more than frustrating, and expressed my concern with that very post myself here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@bucho/this-type-of-self-voting-garbage-is-why-i-m-over-steemit-as-a-legitimate-platform

Good point, thanks for your comment

since you're new, i won't immediately mute you the way i do others, but here's some advice.

don't ask for upvotes or follows and definitely don't spam people's pages or their comments. leave a comment worth reading and responding to and you'll get a much better response from the users who have been here awhile.

otherwise, you're gonna find it VERY, VERY difficult to get any kind of recognition on the site.

Good point bro, keep teaching them

Hello,

Thanks for reporting.
Please use our form to fill reports next time.
Thanks :-)

which form?

Ok, thanks a lot. Will use it next time

We defintly all should be helping in this fight against spam and the many scammers that have been on steemit for a long time , when you have a platform like this one that rewards people in steem crypto , for sure your going to get spammers and scammers trying to gain the system in their favor and getting away with it i might add ! Koodos to those that are trying to do something about it , but steemit needs to also find a way to reduce this type of behavior as well and make it much harder for this to happen to begin with ! great post @charles1 ! upped and resteemed , I help when I can . 👌✌👍 Good night my friend ! 😴😴😴

Good point my friend...thanks for your comment

Your very welcome !👌👍✌💕

follow me and up-vote me

It doesn’t really work that way

Dont beg for follows or upvotes ! this is why your repution is so low because pwople are flagging you for spamming everyone ! you will soon be at zero , Im not going to flag you but im trying to help you if you ever want to succeed on steemit !

I agree. This to me is extremely sad. More often than not, i spent hours on each post, because i want to share my ideas with people. And i see a ton of people doing the same thing. And this should really be the driving factor behind participating in the site. This site is an amazing oppurtunity for us to reward true passion, and allow people to have an income by telling us about what they love. Unfortunately, some people abuse this, and use it exclusively for making money. This is sad to see, as they do not create any value for the website, they only remove it.
They write a few words, and make several hundred dollars. Meanwhile a ton of users spend hours writing amazing articles, only to recieve a few cent, if they're lucky.

This needs to be changed. Maybe by banning bots, i do not know. But if we want steemit to succeed, something must be done.

Good point , I agree. However those with multiply posts on treding pages do not normally use bots, they share votes with their gangs...

speaking of....

After hacking I hate most about the Internet is Scam.. It is worst than everything.... We should take necessary steps about this regard..

You are correct, I agree

There is a lot scamming going on right now on Steemit it's very discouraging

I agree and we should expose them all...hopefully others will join

These guys(Scammers) do spoil this platform and something should be done to improve it. I do laugh when someone out of no where just say good job, please upvote and follow me without even reading the content. Some of these guys should be flagged out

I agree with you those people just copy and paste such comments everywhere and they end up as losers isnt it?

Yeah.... Their more focus is on money not on sharing which is just disgusting

Continuous exposure of these users will likely gain attention from bigger whales therefore this will stop them from scamming. Yet everyday there will be scammers. I wish you the best in calling these guys out. I think a lot of other foreign countries are doing something similar but in their own languages hence not easily searched and found. Very frustrating indeed.

Good point, I agree with you. Unfortunately, this will never end however we will never stop the fight

Well, all I can say is that the flag wars have now brought my attention to where the money is flowing here on steem. I am hesitant to say anything specific, because I may be completely censored at any time and have my reputation destroyed, something that I have worked very hard to build - I have posted MANY original contents, including many original musical works that took days or weeks in some cases, to build said reputation. I have now seen the darker side of steemit, whereas my standing could be DESTROYED in a matter of minutes by saying the wrong thing...

One of the prime reasons steemit appealed to me is the lack of censorship, but now I realize I am self-censoring here more than I would have on FaceBook, and that is SCARY, especially because I never invested more than my time on FB... really I hesitate to press the post button for these same reasons, because I am just a minnow and dont have whales I can turn to. I actually think the site might work better if there were posting limits and NO FLAGGING, wouldnt that make more sense?
Or, possibly one flag per day? But right the flagging abuse is rampant and seems to have hit such lows, and a great point made by many recently s : why would celebs want to move to such a platform - shucks I am even more hesitant to tell my friends about steemit after seeing the trending posts over the past weeks.

Blog More, Hate Less.

It's my new steemit motto - won't you join me?

Your point is valid, I agree..however no need to fear rather post great contents and ignore the haters andbe positive..success to you.

we need to destroy the spammers. they don't belong to the steemit community.

Good point, lets start by exposing them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47