You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is a Roof Thatcher? #SublimeSunday

in #busy5 years ago

We don’t see many of those up North, but they do look good although it always amazes me they manage to stay water tight!

They are certainly doing a good job up those ladders - I do t imagine it’s a skill that the youth is eager to learn but it would be a shame to see the tradition die out.

Superb post thank you for sharing these fantastic photos, it’s always amazing seeing little slices of our English heritage.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

With so few people capable of doing this kind of work any young person with two brain cells you would think would be jumping into this trade?

When they finish the roof I'll get a few more shots of the finished result. You are right about not being many thatch roofs up north. I didn't see any in Cumbria just loads of old slate roofs which have a charm of their own.

it’s always amazing seeing little slices of our English heritage.

I'll do more of these types of posts as I find them really interesting and I'm doing some videos of these old crafts. I like watching people work lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36