My Greatest Scar Contest entry: Back to Back

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, this is my entry for @junebride's "1K Wednesday Contest : Tell Me About Your Greatest Scar!", hope you enjoy the read.


It all happened in 2005, as a 12 year old sickly child I was used to stomachaches, I initially didn't think too much of it as I had been through it so many times before. But this time it was different, my intestines had clogged, the pain was unbearable, so intense sometimes I could barely walk or talk. On the second day after it had started, anything I ingested I would puke and when I ingested nothing I would puke some green dark acid like liquid.

For the first 2-3 days we had tried to see if the prescribed medicine would work but it would only get worse each time we got home from the clinic. So on the 3rd day we went to the CHUK(University Teaching Hospital of Kigali) where I got admitted and was told that I needed surgery right away.

That night was long, my mom was comforting me telling me everything will be alright, my dad who worked in Tanzania at the time kept calling, texting doing the same thing and so was the rest of my family too. I on the other hand didn't really get what the big deal was or what it entailed, I just knew I wanted it all to end and go home.

When it was time I remember being carried on a stroller to the surgery room while screaming in agony, once there I talked a bit with 1 one of the surgeons(I think) until the anesthetic kicked in and everything went dark.

I woke up a few hours later, pain free, or at least until I tried to sit up and oh my goodness it was back. Nope! Fortunately it was just the still patched up stitches reacting to the sudden movement and although it did really hurt, it was nothing compared to before.

I spent the next 3-4 weeks there recovering, chilling with the family during visiting hours and the rest with the amazing doctors and nurses that were taking care of me.

I had grown quite close to a few of them, still you can't imagine how happy I was when I got discharged and was finally done with hospital beds. But nope, wrong again! A few days later I was told there had been some complications, some undetected issues and that I had to get the surgery redone. Ok, this time I was really nervous.

So after a few days my mom and I flew to Johannesburg to get it handled. Once at the hospital(can't remember the name) the operation was redone, plus 2 more. One on my neck seen below and the other was a tube that was plugged under my right nipple. I won't bother showing the scar as it is even less noticeable.


I spent the next 2-3 weeks in that hospital and although it was frustrating being hospitalised again so soon, I did make some new friends from there and also got to learn some now forgotten Afrikaans.

After I was discharged we didn't come back to Rwanda right away, instead we stayed in the city in a guest house and enjoyed for a bit. It was fun, I got to visit around, stuff my face with junk food again and even got to attend my first proper house party.

Yes I did hate the scars and did think of hiding them at all cost but overtime, I accepted them, now I barely notice them and I even low key think they're badass. That period was easily the most physically challenging I ever faced but, with it came respect and value for my health, appreciation for my family who through thick and thin always remain present and for the doctors who work day and night to save their patients.

It gave me a new perspective on how we don't all get the same privileges but should always be greatful for them. That tragedy doesn't discriminate and can strike anytime but also that with faith, perseverance and resilience we can push through anything and come out as victors.

End!

  • All images are mine.
Sort:  

oh gosh.. i wonder what was the original cause of the pain? you were really brave.. i guess that was because being brave was the only thing you can do at that time.. just like when i was about to go through the operation myself, i had no choice but be strong. thanks for sharing!

To be honest I don't really remember what had caused the intestines to get clogged, hadn't even thought of that period in a long time.
You're right, sometimes we have no other choice to be strong to survive. And cheers for the contest :)

How brave of you! Appreciate your courage to share this personal story of yours. Stay healthy!

Thanks man, and I wish you the same :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ange.nkuru from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56