Buddhist monk me.

in #busy6 years ago

Hello ya'll !

So I went through my pictures a week ago and I found some pictures from a special time of my life. I've talked to some friends from Steem and they pushed me to write this special post.
I don't talk much about this part of my life not because it was a bad choice or whatever but more like because people could feel like I'm weird. Except...I'm actually weird.

When? 2012

Where? in Taiwan

How long? 3 months

386803_10151024532329601_1037222862_n.jpg

Where it all started?

In 2011 I met my buddhist master whom I call now Su Phu. He is a well-known Master in Taiwan and Asia actually. Up until 2011, I kind of practiced Buddhism without having one clear direction, I kind of tried lots of different teachings from the Buddhism but didn't find one that would suit me.
Then I met my master (randomely, there is no such thing as random in Buddhism actually) in Paris! Yep he was doing some teachings in a temple in Paris and I was in Paris for a Buddhism seminary in another temple in Paris as well.
Long story short, I got to hear one of his teaching and my perspective on life completely changed after that.

229531_10151120169404601_205501249_n.jpg

Why did I go to Taiwan?

In 2011, Master told me he will throw a big ceremony for 3 days in his temple to pray for Earth. (Because you know people were like 2012 is the end of the world).
I decided that I will go there to attend the praying session for Earth.
I will skip some months.
Then 2 weeks before going to Taiwan my mother wanted to come with. I said ok but I will probably shave my head there. She was like are you even serious??? I thought about that too!
I said I wanted to be a monk.

598698_10150914368964601_1900386387_n.jpg

Why?

Well when I was 17 I really wanted to become a monk but I was told that I should finish my study and graduate first. Then I graduated and another Master told me "it's better for you to not become a monk because then you will be able to help more and more and more people thanks to your study".
Still I wanted to become one, and I "used" this opportunity to be one for 3 months. In the Chinese/Taiwanese buddhism you can ask to be a monk for 3 months or 6 months. It's like planting a seed for the future.

380334_10150902771009601_296120905_n.jpg

What Buddhism has brought to me?

Well I used Buddhism in my everyday life. It's not like I have praying session or stuff but more like I use the Buddhism philosophy in every actions and thoughts that I have.
Praying without practicing is like being blind.
Practicing without praying is like being deaf.

I'm more at ease than I used to be. I'm more open-minded than I used to be. I'm more considerate than I used to be.

So here is what I'm practicing everyday:

  1. Being compassionate
  2. Forgiveness
  3. Understanding
  4. Wisdom
  5. Peaceful
  6. Consistency
  7. Standing straight like a mountain and nothing will make you fall.

DSCN9762.JPG

Praise for Peace.

Peace Peace Peace.
Peace is getting along harmoniously with others and treating all equally.
First, peace is being friendly and on equal terms with all humans, without any bias against those of different race, nationality, or religion.
Second, peace is seeking harmony between humans and the natural environment.
Last, peace is being cordial and respectful to all beings in the universe, among humans to heaven and earth and to spirits.

From the One humanity many faiths book that I brought from Taiwan.

PS: If you guys want I can write more about Buddhism :)

Sort:  

Please do write more about Buddhism. It'll be interesting to see your thoughts and understanding. We barely have anything going on in the #buddhism page. 3 of the Top 10 are from me and my posts don't even have that many views.

Happy Steeming!

Wow, that is so interesting! It's great that you did that and I can understand that your mother struggled with the hair shaving thing, but like you said, it was worth it to have this experience! Well, I would like to read more about Buddhism, thank you for writing about this! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54